They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Help with settings (PRE 10)

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 10.

Help with settings (PRE 10)

Postby mfl1 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 5:26 pm

I am new at this and would appreciate some help with project settings. I am creating a long (maybe 2 hours) project with files in numerous different file formats. The principal one is MPEGs (1920 x 1080) created with my Canon M41 camcorder. I also have AVI movies (720 x 480), movies in Windows Media format, MP3 audio, M4a audio, PNG files and JPEG files. Given the length of the project, I think I need to create low-def DVDs (in order to get the whole project onto a single DVD).

I would be grateful if someone could tell me what project settings to use. (If I haven't provided enough information, I can supplement this.)

Thanks,

Marvin
mfl1

Re: Help with settings (PRE 10)

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:48 pm

First, you NEVER want to mix formats -- particularly hi-def and standard def -- in the same project. It will only lead to trouble.

So my first recommendation is that you find a common format to work in. Since you are producing a standard def DVD, I'd recommend you work in standard def DV. So your first step is to convert that AVCHD from your Canon to DV. To do that, open a project using settings for Full AVCHD 1920x1080 and import that video into it. (Your camcorder has the option of shooting in both stereo and 5.1 audio -- so make sure your project settings also match whatever audio format you're recording to!) Import your AVCHD video into the project, place it all on timeline and use Share/Computer/AVI with a DV preset to output it all as a DV-AVI. (Or, if you choose, you can export as a number of shorter AVI segments.)