They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

File Structure Q''s and Cleanup Help Please

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 10.

File Structure Q''s and Cleanup Help Please

Postby zenhog » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:39 pm

Newbie here to the forum and until recently a casual user of PRE - versions 4, 8 and now 10. I'd like to learn about the file structure, and find out what I can remove since I just finished a big project and have gobs of disk space tied up with stuff I probably don't need. Steve - if you see this I want to thank you and tell you how excited I am to find a place like this to learn from. I've already jumped to Amazon and ordered your book on PRE10 and I'll be subscribing tonight. And if some of these questions are answered in the book please feel free to tell me to wait until Tuesday when it arrives.

I guess my first question is does the app have a command like "project over - clean up all laying around junk" ? \:D/

Second, there's a command "Project Archiver". can that be of use in my cleanup efforts? According to the documenation it appears that is the reason for this command. So my questions below are to inform me of what the files are used for, and where to go to clean up anything I might not need.

Another general question - if I do an uninstall of PRE 8 will the 8.0 folder be removed?

I run everything out of the stock folder the app installed. Under MyDocuments I have an Adobe folder. In that folder is the 10.0 folder where I save my project .prel file and everything takes care of itself. If that's a bad practice please let me know.