They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2023
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Bridge or Camera? Sony RX100iv files

A discussion area specific to the Photoshop Pro versions.

Bridge or Camera? Sony RX100iv files

Postby momoffduty » Wed Nov 02, 2022 4:16 pm

I shot video in 4k and after import into Bridge there are .jpg files from the video files. The 4k video files are fine and odd that there are 1920x1080 .jpg files from the video files. I shoot in raw and was surprised to see the .jpg files and then realized they are of the video files.

I've had this camera many years and this is odd. Viewing the files in camera the .jpg files are not showing.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7494
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Bridge or Camera? Sony RX100iv files

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Thu Nov 03, 2022 2:15 am

Random thought. If the .jpgs are video files has Bridge created them as 'proxy view' files (so smaller) but the original 4k files are still available?
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win11 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4173
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Bridge or Camera? Sony RX100iv files

Postby momoffduty » Thu Nov 03, 2022 2:22 pm

John, the 4k files are intact. Maybe Bridge did create a proxy. Bridge has been updated a few times since I used this camera in May. I didn't see anything about a proxy in the update comment box.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7494
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Bridge or Camera? Sony RX100iv files

Postby momoffduty » Fri Nov 04, 2022 2:09 pm

There is something going on with Bridge since the last update. After I edit a file in Camera Raw, I then send it to Photoshop. There was one raw file that would not open in PS getting this message "Could not open (file name) because the file format module cannot parse the file"

I deleted my edits in ACR on the file and it went to PS no problem. Working on another file it happened again. Seems using the mask of "select sky" or "select subject" trips up the file going to PS. Now the linear mask tool works on a file and PS opens. I sent a bug report to Adobe.

I haven't edited the video yet. The files are still on the SD card and if there is a problem then I will upload to my old computer and jump drive it to the new computer.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7494
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Bridge or Camera? Sony RX100iv files

Postby RJ Johnston » Sun Nov 13, 2022 10:48 pm

Cheryl,
You may have an option in the menu system of your Sony RX100iv that will automatically capture "interesting" snapshots as you record video. What is "interesting" is a trade secret. I have the RX10M4 that has that feature, which I have turned off. It's an option called "Auto Dual Record." There is also a feature you may have that lets you go into the Playback menu on your camera and manually search through the video for frames for which you want a snapshot. Did you do that at some point.
Dell XPS 8940 Intel 8-core 10th gen.-i7 10700K (3.8-5.1 GHz); 32GB DDR4 2933 MHz RAM; 512 GB SSD; 2 TB 7200 HD; BDRE-drive; NVIDIA(R) Geforce(R) RTX 2060 SUPER(TM) 8G8 GDDR6
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3129
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Bridge or Camera? Sony RX100iv files

Postby momoffduty » Mon Nov 14, 2022 2:03 pm

RJ, found the option in Menu for Auto Dual Rec and it is greyed out for the format I used. 4k 30p 60m
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7494
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Bridge or Camera? Sony RX100iv files

Postby momoffduty » Mon Nov 14, 2022 2:36 pm

Problem: I deleted my edits in ACR on the file and it went to PS no problem. Working on another file it happened again. Seems using the mask of "select sky" or "select subject" trips up the file going to PS. Now the linear mask tool works on a file and PS opens. I sent a bug report to Adobe.

I was on chat again today with Adobe. Downloaded the previous versions of Bridge & PS. ACR "select subject" or "select sky" masks files will not open in PS. The brush & gradient masks work. Adobe suggested I update Windows 10 to 22h2 and check for graphic driver updates. I did both and still not working. I'm using the Studio Driver with the Nvidia GeForce RTX 2070 Super.

Raw file that I used Select Subject back in March will not open in PS. It did in March. I've used this feature often and I think the last time was September.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7494
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis


Return to Photoshop 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests