They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Rendering problems

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 8.

Rendering problems

Postby jepeve » Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:16 am

Hello everyone,
I am new with PE8 (using Pinnacle before -nice but buggy). My problem is rendering. During the proces there are unexpected stops. Sometimes a message "unknown error", mostly without any message. I reduced the lenght of the film to max 20 minutes and then it is mostly OK (but to burn that to a DVD is pretty inefficient). I also tried to render to my harddisk in standart AVI format and merge them later before burning, but with same problem. I tried the Microsoft AVI format that took 5hrs 45min to render for 20 minutes video. Since I know RAM is often the bottleneck, I increased to 8 GB. Helas without any improvement. Source video's are in .avi format (from miniDV- Sony DCR TRV33E-via firewire) and are captured without problems (so far).
My system is an ASUS Rampage Extreme with Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 Ghz. 64 bit Windows7 Ultimate. 4 (now 8 GB) ram Geil DDR3 Cash latency 6.0. HD for video 1TB internal and 2 CD/DVD reader/burner.
My 2 questions are as follows:
1. Does anybody know how to prevent these unexpected errors
2. Since during rendering only 40% of RAM and less than 40% of CPU's is used, I wonder whether there is a possibility to increase efficiency.
Thanks a lot on beforehand,

John
jepeve
New User
New User

Re: Rendering problems

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Apr 23, 2010 6:42 am

Welcome to Muvipix, John! You'll always find help here!