They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Adjust audio in menu

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 7.

Adjust audio in menu

Postby keledole » Wed Mar 11, 2009 7:38 am

Hi, This is my first post and a relatively new user to the Adobe line of video editing software. I have been editing for several years prior with a competitors package but decided to buy PE7 (long story).

I have your book on order and will be receiving it in about a week but I had a newbie question about a menu feature. The audio clip volume level is too loud in relation to the clip volumes in the project. Raising all the clip volumes in the project may a possibility but is there a way to adjust the volume level for the menu only?

If not, is there a way to edit the audio clip source file in pe7 before it is added to the menu or will I have to use a third party audio editor?

Any information is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
keledole
New User
New User

Re: Adjust audio in menu

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Mar 11, 2009 7:46 am

Hi, K! And welcome to Muvipix!

Unfortunately, you can't adjust the audio level for the menu in the program.

You'll need to go back to the original file and, using a program like Audacity (free) adjust the volume level of the original file.

Meantime, speaking of the audio level of your video, it's important never to trust the speakers on your computer for setting the levels for your video! Instead, click on the Mix Audio button on the timeline panel to open the Audio Mixer and use it to set your audio levels. That way you'll know you're working with a real standard instead of a subjective one. (It will also help you avoid overmodulating or undermodulating our audio, which can produce a very low quality sound on your DVD.)