They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

6-Core and Cards

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

6-Core and Cards

Postby Bobby » Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:17 am

Two questions in preparation to buying my next video PC.

1) Does PRE10 utilize 6-core processors such as the i7-3930?

2) Can someone point me to somewhere on the Adobe website that lists supported graphics cards? I find the Adobe website very difficult to navigate.

Still just thinking and evaluating my options, but it never hurts to do one's homework!
Bobby (Bob Seidel)
User avatar
Bobby
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3170
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:41 pm
Location: At the beach in NC

Re: 6-Core and Cards

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:53 am

Hi Bobby,
On my Thinkpad with an i7 processor Premiere Elements 10 I'm pretty sure it uses all cores for processing. Don't remember if I've actually checked but I can do that as a test. Still, I am very sure that it does utilize all cores.

Hard to find but here it is, last updated in October 2011
http://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-element ... ments.html
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: 6-Core and Cards

Postby Bobby » Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:45 pm

That list does look old. I will see what I can find elsewhere. Thanks...
Bobby (Bob Seidel)
User avatar
Bobby
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3170
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:41 pm
Location: At the beach in NC

Re: 6-Core and Cards

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Apr 08, 2012 2:04 pm

Hi again Bobby,
I opened a previous project on my Win 7 64 bit laptop with an i7 processor.
resource manager in windows 7 shows 8 cores/cpus, 0 - 7.

I added the Video Stabilizer Effect to a 2 minute HDV clip and rendered.
The rendering took 7 minutes and all CPUs were utilized 100% during the process.

Hope that helps :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron