They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Grainy Photo

User discussion concerning all that's Photoshop Elements (all versions).

Grainy Photo

Postby Niki Burony » Sat Sep 29, 2007 10:24 am

I have some photos which are about 40 years old. They were taken with color 35 mm film available in that day. I have the negatives, and took them to Walmart and had them transfered to CD, and now I have loaded them onto my computer for editing and creating a photo book.

Most of the color photos are grainy. Funny, the black and white photos from the same time look pretty good, but the color photos all look grainy or pixelated. I am new to Photoshop Elements, and wondering if some one would have some specific adjustments to color/sharpening, etc or even any of the filters you may suggest to improve the look of the photos.

So far I've been just guessing, but nothing looks quite right.
Niki Burony

Re: Grainy Photo

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:10 am

What resolution are the photos?

In Photo Elements go to Image/Resize/Image Size and post the Pixel Dimensions.

Can you post a sample to this forum? It could be that these photos were scanned in low resolution and that, when you display them on your very high resolution computer monitor, they just look "grainy".
HP Envy with 2.9/4.4 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator

Postby Niki Burony » Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:14 pm

The image looks to be 1818x1228, it references 6x4 inches in size, and 300 pixels.

I'm not sure how to post the image to the forum - help?
Niki Burony

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Sep 29, 2007 3:28 pm

Well, if your photos are that high resolution, then resolution is not the problem.

But I'm still not sure what you mean by "grainy."