They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

RAW files

User discussion concerning all that's Photoshop Elements (all versions).

RAW files

Postby Johnny » Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:07 am

I just noticed that I had posted this message under Premiere Elements rather than Photoshop Elements, so here it is in the right place.
Anyway, I'm new to shooting RAW images. I just transferred the first RAW files from my Canon Rebel t21/550D to my computer and want to try to try some image editing.
I have Photoshop Elements 7, but it wouldn't open any RAW files. I tried using Adobe's DNG Converter, but something's not working. On the Adobe site, in one area it says that I need to use the Camera RAW 5.6 plug-in, but in another area for the Canon t2i it says that the minimum plug-in version is 5.7, 6.1.
Anyone have any experience with this?
Thanks!
Processor: i7-4790 Processor @3.6 GHz
24GB RAM
2TB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
2GB AMD Radeon HD R9 270 Graphics
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Software: Photoshop Elements 13, Premiere Elements 13
Johnny
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Re: RAW files

Postby Bob » Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:02 am

Support for the raw format from that camera was introduced in Camera Raw 5.7. You need to be at least at that level. However, Photoshop Elements 7 only supports up to the Camera Raw 5.5 plugin. Higher numbered plugins are incompatible. That means that you can't process the Canon t2i raw files directly in Photoshop Elements.