They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Frame rate questions

Discussions about High Definition Television, Blu-Ray, HD DVD and other high definition DVD formats.

Frame rate questions

Postby Ron Hunter » Sat Oct 05, 2013 10:06 pm

Hello! I just received my Canon HFR400 camcorder and I'm learning how to use it.

The highest quality setting on the camcorder is AVCHD 1920x1080 60p mode, but Premiere Elements 10 does not offer a 60p "Share" output option. Don't I need a 60p "Share" option in order to really take advantage of the 60p recording? If so, does PRE11 or the new PRE12 offer that?

Since the raw footage is AVCHD, I need to use Share>Computer>AVCHD to output the highest quality movie, yes?
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
User avatar
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:13 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:20 am

You don't need a 60p output to edit 60p. All you need is a 60p project setting template.

Premiere Elements added AVCHD 1920x1080p60 support in version 11, so version 10 doesn't include native support for it.

Probably the simplest solution is to shoot in 60i (which your camcorder should do). The results should still be excellent, and you'll get a good, smooth workflow in version 10. (60p is most effective for shooting fast moving action. But for most purposes, you should find 60i more than satisfactory.)

As for outputting your video -- the output template you use depends on how you're going to use the video. There are specific templates for online, for posting to YouTube, for outputting to a DVD or BluRay, etc.
HP Envy with 2.9/4.4 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 14447
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby videovillageidiot » Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:19 am

Steve Grisetti wrote:Probably the simplest solution is to shoot in 60i (which your camcorder should do). The results should still be excellent, and you'll get a good, smooth workflow in version 10. (60p is most effective for shooting fast moving action. But for most purposes, you should find 60i more than satisfactory.)


Steve, Dave McElderry confirmed the HF R400 does not shoot 60i in this thread (about halfway down)... http://muvipix.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=12294
videovillageidiot
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 7:08 pm

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Oct 06, 2013 4:27 pm

Hmm. According to Canon's specs, it does.
http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/ ... ifications
HP Envy with 2.9/4.4 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 14447
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Dave McElderry » Sun Oct 06, 2013 4:52 pm

Interesting. Here's the PDF of the manual. I don't see anything about 60i:

http://gdlp01.c-wss.com/gds/4/030001041 ... 2-n-en.pdf
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Asus X570-E motherboard; AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.8 GHz; 64GB DDR4; GeForce RTX 2060 6GB; 1TB Samsung 970 Pro M.2 SSD
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Oct 06, 2013 5:21 pm

It's on page 85. ;)
HP Envy with 2.9/4.4 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 14447
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Dave McElderry » Sun Oct 06, 2013 5:46 pm

So it is. The specs say nothing about it. :ha:
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Asus X570-E motherboard; AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.8 GHz; 64GB DDR4; GeForce RTX 2060 6GB; 1TB Samsung 970 Pro M.2 SSD
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Ron Hunter » Sun Oct 06, 2013 7:42 pm

Wow, thanks guys. I just checked my camcorder and sure enough, 60i is available on all AVCHD modes except the 60p setting. Now that I type that out, I guess it's kinda obvious... :oops:
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
User avatar
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:13 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:09 pm

Great news! At least now you have the option if you decide to go for it.
HP Envy with 2.9/4.4 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 14447
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Dave McElderry » Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:45 pm

That's what I get for thinking that the spec sheet would tell me. :oops:
Glad you got it sorted out.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Asus X570-E motherboard; AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.8 GHz; 64GB DDR4; GeForce RTX 2060 6GB; 1TB Samsung 970 Pro M.2 SSD
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby videovillageidiot » Sun Oct 06, 2013 10:46 pm

Steve Grisetti wrote:It's on page 85. ;)


You are soooooo right Steve. I was reading my manual and found the same thing you did. I came here to correct myself (and beg your forgiveness) and saw that you guys already had it covered.

Thanks for being on top of things!!
videovillageidiot
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 7:08 pm

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Dave McElderry » Mon Oct 07, 2013 3:29 am

I was looking at the specs starting on pp. 186 and 187 of the manual, with no mention there. I would have thought that if it specifically mentions 60P that it would mention 60i. Oh well. That's the power of a community.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Asus X570-E motherboard; AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.8 GHz; 64GB DDR4; GeForce RTX 2060 6GB; 1TB Samsung 970 Pro M.2 SSD
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Ron Hunter » Sat Oct 12, 2013 9:07 pm

I can't find a PrEl10 project setting for AVCHD 1920x1080 60i. For grins I tried a setting that seemed close but the supported frame rate was 30i.

To my surprise I did not see a red bar over the timeline when I placed the footage.

Why does a 60i clip not require rendering for a 30i project setting?
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
User avatar
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:13 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Bob » Sat Oct 12, 2013 10:50 pm

30 interlaced frames per second is the same as 60 interlaced fields per second. You'll normally see this written as 1080i30 or 1080i30(60i).
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Frame rate questions

Postby Ron Hunter » Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:10 pm

Thanks Bob!
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
User avatar
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:13 pm
Location: North Carolina


Return to Hi Def 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron