They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Camcorder records in AVCHD

Specific to Premiere Elements version 2018

Camcorder records in AVCHD

Postby kenskopp » Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:27 am

Hello Steve,

I purchased a new Panasonic HC-V180 camcorder. I plan to use it to record railroad steam engines and airplanes at airshows. My Nikon DSL3100 only has a 10 minute record limit and I wanted to be able to automatically zoom in on subjects. It also over heated when I was recodring a informational video in the forward turret of the battleship USS Wisconsin in Norfolk VA. I am recording in AVCHD Progressive (1080/60p). I can convert to MP4 (1280k720/30p). My goal is to create DVDs. Should I work with AVCHD files or convert to MP4 before using PRE 2018?

Thanks for the help. Your books and website have taught me how to make DVDs of every month of my 7 year old grandaughter life.

Ken Skopp
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 2 1-TB internal hard drives (C) and (E) and 1 3TB internal drive (F), 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB (K) and 1TB (H).
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Camcorder records in AVCHD

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:02 am

You should be able to load the AVCHD 1080/60p files as is in Premiere Elements, Ken. The program should be able to match those specs in the project settings.

But give it a test drive before you embark on a major project. If it doesn't work, your camcorder likely has settings you can switch to.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13143
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Camcorder records in AVCHD

Postby kenskopp » Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:55 pm

Thank you Steve, All I have to do now is figure out how to transfer files from the camcorder to my computer. It was interesting in that my PC would not recognize the SD card from the camcorder. I am looking up the instructions from Panasonic. I have already detrimed that Panasonic has lousy product support. God Bless Muvipix!!!!!

Ken
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 2 1-TB internal hard drives (C) and (E) and 1 3TB internal drive (F), 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB (K) and 1TB (H).
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Camcorder records in AVCHD

Postby kenskopp » Sat Jul 06, 2019 7:40 pm

Hi Steve,

I found out how to transfer files to my PC. I have set up PRE2018 project and added the files. I picked the Panasonic HC-V180 over the Canon 800 because of the many articles and youtube views that indicated Panasonic had 90x optical zoom and stereo mic. On July 10, I will be recording a cab ride in a diesel locomotive. I will let you know how I learn to use the camcorder and PRE2018 to make dvds from the AVCHD files.

Ken Skopp
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 2 1-TB internal hard drives (C) and (E) and 1 3TB internal drive (F), 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB (K) and 1TB (H).
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Camcorder records in AVCHD

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Jul 07, 2019 7:41 am

Looking forward to hearing of your results, Ken!

Meantime, this is far and away the easiest way to get video from a camcorder to a computer. Starting at about 2:20:

3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13143
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE version 2018 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests