They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Shake Reduction Tutorial

Specific to Premiere Elements version 14

Shake Reduction Tutorial

Postby John Walker » Mon Aug 27, 2018 5:39 am

Hi,

Have you made a tutorial on Shake Reduction? There are many options in the menu but I'm not sure best way to use them.

As an example, I have a walk through clip of a busy market. The result with basic settings is a small image in the centre of the screen with a note to say alter settings. I have other clips where it works fine. I'm guessing there were some large movements as I turned corners in the market that were outside the scope of the basic settings. Another setting had the borders fluctuation.

Regards
John
Cameras:
[1] Sony RX100 M3
[2] Panasonic HC-X920
Software:
Win 10
Adobe Premiere Elements 14
PC:
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: Drive 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 2 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
16 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
John Walker
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Shake Reduction Tutorial

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:05 am

At this point, it's on our list of tutorials to work on.

But meantime, you can find a detailed tutorial in Chapter 3 of my lynda.com course.
https://www.lynda.com/Elements-tutorial ... typeid%3a2
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12820
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Shake Reduction Tutorial

Postby John Walker » Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:42 am

Many thanks Steve,

I guess I am asking too much with the particular footage. Too much panning as I walk about the market.

I get a good smoothing result with one of the options but the outer edges are all over the place. Just wondering if I can just select the unaffected area and then expand it to fit the screen?

John
Cameras:
[1] Sony RX100 M3
[2] Panasonic HC-X920
Software:
Win 10
Adobe Premiere Elements 14
PC:
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: Drive 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 2 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
16 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
John Walker
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Shake Reduction Tutorial

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:06 pm

Just remember that the more you expand your picture, the less resolution it will have and the blurrier it will be.

But there's certainly no harm in giving it a try and seeing if you like the results!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12820
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Shake Reduction Tutorial

Postby John Walker » Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:07 pm

Just tried an experiment which might be of interest to others.

The clip is a continuous walk through of a very vibrant market (Camden Market in London). I have just split the clip in to segments and applied Shake Reduction to each segment. Just one segment was causing the whole clip to reduce to a small image in the centre of the screen. It's such a small section that I'm happy to leave that bit without Shake Reduction.
Thanks again for your assistance.

John
Cameras:
[1] Sony RX100 M3
[2] Panasonic HC-X920
Software:
Win 10
Adobe Premiere Elements 14
PC:
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: Drive 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 2 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
16 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
John Walker
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Shake Reduction Tutorial

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:20 pm

Great news, John!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12820
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 14 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron