They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Topaz AI Gigapixel

MUsic / VIdeo / PIX related, plugins, filters, must have tools.

Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby RJ Johnston » Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:03 pm

I tried out Topaz Lab's AI Gigapixel product for resizing images and was impressed with the resizing of an 800x600 image by 200%, especially when compared to what Photoshop CC2018 produced. I tried the 400% setting, but my computer locked up. That's a shame because I would really like to see results for 400% and 600%. If you want to try it out on your system, here is the web page for it. I'm sure my 8GB of RAM is a contributing factor to the lock-up on my machine. You may have better luck.

https://topazlabs.com/ai-gigapixel/
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:21 am

Hello Robert. Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

I took an image that I had with pixel dimensions of 3264x2448 and tried the 600% enlargement. I wasn't timing it accurately but I reckon it took about ten to fifteen minutes on my PC to process the image. The input file size was 6.86MB, the enlarged output image was 88.3MB with pixel dimensions of 19,584x14,688.

I also used Photoshop CS6 to enlarge the same source image to the same pixel dimensions that AI Gigapixel produced.

AI Gigapixel did a better job than CS6. In my case the number of occassions when I might need such image enlargments make it difficult to justify the $99.99 expenditure when Photoshop can achieve an acceptable, though less good, result. Just my twopennyworth.
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Samsung Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3833
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby sidd finch » Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:23 pm

I remember reading somewhere that for Photoshop it was important to scale up in smaller increments instead of all at once. The program did a better job in increments.

Sidd
"Nunc coepi" - Now I begin
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4164
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby Bob » Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:34 pm

Sidd, that technique was recommended in older versions of Photoshop where the interpolation method was 'bicubic'. Adobe introduced a new method called 'bicubic smoother' that gave similar results to the iteration procedure but in a single step. I remember using 'bicubic smoother' in CS6. Photoshop CC introduced a new method called 'preserve details'. I feel that one looks a bit like it is over sharpened. The good news is that Adobe has a new version of 'preserve details' that uses AI deep learning that works very well. If you have Photoshop CC2018, you can try it out using the technology preview feature. You'll need to enable 'preserve details 2.0' and explicitly select it in the resize dialog. I think it's the best enlargement method Adobe has come up with so far.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5769
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:02 pm

It may be that Topaz AI-Gigapixel may excel at enlarging smaller images. For example, here are the results of a section showing branches:

Compare Topaz AI Gigapixel to Adobe PS CC2018 Preserve Details 2.0.jpg



I read through the system requirements for AI-Gigapixel and found that my Intel graphics is not supported, and my 8 GB of RAM is the minimum recommended. At least I can increase the sizes by 200%.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby Bob » Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:14 pm

Interesting. I've enlarged higher resolution crops with preserve details 2.0 and it seemed to have done a good job. Now I'm curious what AI Gigapixel would have done with them.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5769
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby Bob » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:22 pm

FYI,

Topaz labs is going to have a live webinar about AI Gigapixel tomorrow, Tuesday Aug. 21 at 3:00 p.m. PDT. You can register for it at their website. These seminars usually consist of a 45 minute presentation and 15 minutes of Q&A from the attendees. Webinars are archived so you can watch it later if you can't attend. But, it may take quite a while before the archive session is posted.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5769
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby RJ Johnston » Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:37 am

I just registered. They are starting at 2:00 pm PDT. It's from 2 to 3.


One thing I've been noticing is that when doubling size, noisy images taken with a cheap digital camera come out looking clean.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:32 pm

i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Samsung Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3833
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:48 pm

After the Webinar was over, I purchased A. I. Gigapixel for 20% off using GigaGreg for the coupon code on Topaz's website. The discount is good till, I think, August 27.


I've been incrementally resizing by 200% to get to 800%. That took quite a while on the last pass. I need more muscle.


There was a release of version 1.0.2. If you don't have that, just run the installation application that you downloaded the first time. The old version will be uninstalled and then the latest update installed.


After purchase, you don't get a key or serial number, you just log in to your Topaz account from the application.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:28 am

Seems that there is still an unadvertised 15% discount on this (and all other?) Topaz software by using the code 'PLUGSNPIXELS'.

http://www.plugsandpixels.com/discounts.html
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Samsung Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3833
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby RJ Johnston » Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:00 pm

With the release of version 1.1, there is an option to use CPU instead of GPU if GPU causes problems. Now I can use 400% and 600% enlargement options, and don't need to enlarge incrementally. Incremental enlargements look better, however.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Thu Sep 27, 2018 11:11 pm

i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Samsung Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3833
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby Bob » Fri Sep 28, 2018 3:43 am

Thanks, John. Hadn't seen that yet.

Looking at the page you linked, I noticed a related link next to it regarding using Topaz AI Clear to reduce scanned film grain prior to enlargement with AI Gigapixel. Very interesting.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5769
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Sep 28, 2018 2:54 pm

I've been on trial with Topaz AI Clear for a few days now. I definitely will buy this. That's just about as exciting as AI Gigapixel. It's not standalone like AI Gigapixel. It's a plugin and requires the free Topaz Studio suite. I also like AI Remix.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA


Return to Tools 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron