They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Specific to Premiere Elements version 13

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Johnny » Sat Jul 07, 2018 3:05 pm

Hi, Chuck

I stopped them. Then I tried to delete the OOBE folder and got the same message as before.
I restarted the computer and tried again, but I got the same message.

After I restarted the computer, I stopped those services again because they became active again after restarting the computer. I tried again to delete the OOBE folder, but I got the same message as before.
Processor: i7-4790 Processor @3.6 GHz
24GB RAM
2TB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
2GB AMD Radeon HD R9 270 Graphics
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Software: Photoshop Elements 13, Premiere Elements 13
Johnny
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:38 pm

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Johnny » Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:40 pm

Anyone know what else I can try?
Processor: i7-4790 Processor @3.6 GHz
24GB RAM
2TB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
2GB AMD Radeon HD R9 270 Graphics
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Software: Photoshop Elements 13, Premiere Elements 13
Johnny
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:38 pm

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:12 pm

There has to be some program or service running in the background that is keeping you from being able to delete the folder. Anyone know a way to figure out what might be causing this?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17519
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:18 pm

Let me suggest this modified version of what I suggested earlier. This one should work.

Go to C://Users/[username]/AppData/Local/Adobe and delete or rename the OOBE folder.

In order to do this you'll likely need to open the Task Manager and end all of the tasks that have Adobe in their name (plus any with the Creative Cloud logo on them, if you have any Creative Cloud programs installed).

Once you delete this OOBE folder and you start the program, you'll be prompted for the serial number (or you may need to reinstall the program). But then you'll be done with it!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12747
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Johnny » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:41 pm

In the Task Manager, would I select "End Process" for everything with Adobe in its name?

Should I uninstall PRE 13 again before doing so, or does it not matter?
Processor: i7-4790 Processor @3.6 GHz
24GB RAM
2TB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
2GB AMD Radeon HD R9 270 Graphics
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Software: Photoshop Elements 13, Premiere Elements 13
Johnny
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:38 pm

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Johnny » Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:30 pm

After I did that, I finally managed to delete the OOBE folder.
I tried to open PRE 13, but it is still the trial version, even after I yet again entered the serial number.
Processor: i7-4790 Processor @3.6 GHz
24GB RAM
2TB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
2GB AMD Radeon HD R9 270 Graphics
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Software: Photoshop Elements 13, Premiere Elements 13
Johnny
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:38 pm

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:06 am

I'm nor sure what is up, Johnny. That is the solution. It worked for me 6 months ago.

For what it's worth, if you look on the Adobe forum, you'll see Adobe's techs themselves are working on a similar issue (Or is that your post?). So I guess we can watch and see what they come up with.
https://forums.adobe.com/message/10484811#10484811

It's a Microsoft/Adobe issue. And I'm just not sure we at Muvipix are going to be able to offer more than we have.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12747
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Johnny » Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:41 am

Steve, yes, that's my post on the Adobe forum, though I don't expect much from them, given that their technicians had access to my computer for several hours without being able to resolve the problem.
One of the Adobe people suggested that I contact Windows support, so I did so. Windows support told me that there were no Windows updates right before this problem began. Windows support suggested that I contact Adobe support. It has gone nowhere, and I just don't understand how it could be working fine one day, and then the very next day I have this problem.
Processor: i7-4790 Processor @3.6 GHz
24GB RAM
2TB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
2GB AMD Radeon HD R9 270 Graphics
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Software: Photoshop Elements 13, Premiere Elements 13
Johnny
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:38 pm

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Peru » Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:57 am

Hi Johnny,
Your issue was supposed to be elevated to the next level.
It could be that it is delayed because Adobe USA was on vacation last week. Give it a couple more days and respond to that thread:
https://forums.adobe.com/message/10484811#10484811
You can PM Rajashree Bhattacharya directly in the Adobe Forum if you wish.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3085
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Johnny » Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:46 pm

At this point I don't think that there is anything that I can do in order to access the program that I had paid for and been using for the past three years until this happened a few weeks ago.
I am now having to consider buying new video editing software. I've used Premiere Elements software for many years, but now due to what happened with PRE 13 and with Adobe's technicians' inability to resolve the problem and even to make things worse by blocking me out of my own computer, I have misgivings about buying the most recent version of PRE. Who is to say that this will not also occur with the current version of PRE?
Do you know if a different video editing software (that is as accessible as PRE) works better with Windows 7?
Processor: i7-4790 Processor @3.6 GHz
24GB RAM
2TB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
2GB AMD Radeon HD R9 270 Graphics
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Software: Photoshop Elements 13, Premiere Elements 13
Johnny
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:38 pm

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:06 pm

Premiere Elements 11. You should be able to find a used or old copy pretty cheap.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12747
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:47 pm

You might want to give ProShow Producer a try, you can always give a few editors a test drive for free :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17519
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Johnny » Mon Jul 23, 2018 6:59 pm

Thanks, Chuck. Actually, I just installed my old PRE 10 and it's running well, thankfully. I'm still stumped about what happened with PRE 13, though.

I didn't know that ProShow Producer can be used for video, actually. I use ProShow Gold for making slideshows with photos. Great program!
Processor: i7-4790 Processor @3.6 GHz
24GB RAM
2TB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
2GB AMD Radeon HD R9 270 Graphics
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Software: Photoshop Elements 13, Premiere Elements 13
Johnny
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:38 pm

Re: Premiere Elements No Longer Recognizing Serial Number

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:41 am

Photodex has made some really great improvements to their Proshow products over the years, as long as you use it already give it a try. You can do video in Proshow Gold as well.

Only ProShow Producer gives you the features of a video editor with the ease-of-use of a slideshow tool. Blend photos and videos together in nearly any way imaginable.

Use the built-in video trimmer to edit your video clips and use just the portion you want. Turn videos to black and white or sepia with one-click layer filters. Adjust the speed of your video clip to create cool, slow-mo sequences and apply any of Producer's slide styles to your video


http://www.photodex.com/proshow/producer

http://www.photodex.com/proshow
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17519
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Previous

Return to PRE Version 13 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests