They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Question on frame rate

Talk about anything here.

Question on frame rate

Postby sidd finch » Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:19 pm

I have some video footage that is 1080p 29.97 fps. When I try to slow the footage down it becomes choppy because it is essentially adding duplicate frames to stretch the video clip.

I am wondering if I can use the interpret footage in Premiere Pro to double the frame rate of the video the slow it down. Does this also still generate a duplicate frame to stretch out the video clip.

Sidd
“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Albert Einstein
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4046
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Question on frame rate

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Jul 01, 2018 5:15 pm

FWIW the Time Remapping tool in Premiere Elements blends frames very nicely, and you can slow video down a lot before it starts to look choppy.

I have to assume professional tools also have some sort of frame blending time remapping tool
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Question on frame rate

Postby sidd finch » Sun Jul 01, 2018 7:22 pm

This is a video that looked interesting to try to check out.



Sidd
“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Albert Einstein
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4046
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Question on frame rate

Postby RJ Johnston » Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:44 pm

Have you tried Prodad's ReSpeedr? http://www.prodad.com/Slowmotion-Timelapse/ReSpeedr-V1-29772,l-us.html

There are two sub-frame modes: standard and high quality. The high-quality mode takes a long time to render. There's only so much that Respeedr can do with 29.97.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Question on frame rate

Postby sidd finch » Wed Jul 04, 2018 9:22 am

Have you tried Prodad's ReSpeedr?


Thank you RJ. I do have After Effects but like you mentioned the render times are really long.

That got me thinking that it would be a cool idea if the Adobe Creative Cloud offered an option to upload your clip, run it through After Effects then download the clip. It would be less time then to sit and wait for something to render on your home machine.......

Sidd
“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Albert Einstein
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4046
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Question on frame rate

Postby Peru » Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:44 pm

sidd finch wrote:That got me thinking that it would be a cool idea if the Adobe Creative Cloud offered an option to upload your clip, run it through After Effects then download the clip.
Sidd


That would take a tremendous amount of bandwidth and resources.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA


Return to Water Cooler 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests