They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Editing with 4K files

Specific to Premiere Elements version 14

Editing with 4K files

Postby John Walker » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:32 am

Hi all,

I've been asked if I can edit some 4K files taken on a GoPro 6. Can V14 handle these files for editing?

The person who made the request understands that when I burn to DVD they won't be 4K.

Regards
John
Cameras:
[1] Sony RX100 M6
[2] Panasonic HC-X920
Software:
Win 10
Adobe Premiere Elements 14
Sonicfire Pro 6.0
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 3 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
32 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
User avatar
John Walker
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:07 am

You may be able to handle short videos. But that i5 processor will likely struggle with longer 4K videos. Though it's worth a try. Can someone provide you with same sample video from that GoPro?

Meantime, before you even attempt to edit the video, open a sample in the free download MediaInfo. Set MediaInfo's View menu to Text and make sure you do not see the words "Variable Frame Rate" in the report. Variable Frame Rate is a compression system that can make for smaller files -- but it can also challenge Premiere Elements and most other video editing programs.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12833
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:31 pm

The graphics card in your signature "Radeon HD5450", I hope you meant 1GB and not 1MB, is also not going to help any either.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17562
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby sidd finch » Tue Apr 10, 2018 1:06 pm

Also be aware that with the Hero 6 GoPro is now using the HEVC format. Make sure your editor can support HEVC format.

High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC) – also known as H.265 – is a video compression standard that allows GoPro to capture large video content, such as 4K60 and 1080p240, at roughly half the file size with equivalent image quality. Adoption for this new standard is increasing, and is natively supported on Android™ 5.0+ and iOS™ 11 on newer phones and tablets with more powerful processors. Moreover, HEVC is natively supported on Windows® 10 and MacOS® High Sierra on newer desktop computers with more powerful processors.


Sidd
"Nunc coepi" - Now I begin
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4180
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:38 pm

That's a pretty important point, Sidd! Thanks for making us aware!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12833
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby John Walker » Tue May 08, 2018 8:16 am

Firstly, my apologies for this late response.

Many thanks to you all for your advice. It's a GoPro 5. I won't make any promises to the guy but I'll give it a try and see how it turns out. Probably, only a 15 minute project.

Regards

John
Cameras:
[1] Sony RX100 M6
[2] Panasonic HC-X920
Software:
Win 10
Adobe Premiere Elements 14
Sonicfire Pro 6.0
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 3 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
32 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
User avatar
John Walker
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby sidd finch » Tue May 08, 2018 11:03 am

I have edited 4k footage from a GoPro 5 on a less than stellar machine.

It is difficult and time consuming. Expect exceptionally long render times and export times.

Sidd
"Nunc coepi" - Now I begin
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4180
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby TreeTopsRanch » Tue May 08, 2018 12:59 pm

I though that Vegas was able to create proxy files for those 4k files so that you can edit with those smaller files then when you render it uses the original files. Just as suggestion. Maybe you could try a trial copy of Vegas to see it that works better than your program.
User avatar
TreeTopsRanch
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby John Walker » Mon Nov 05, 2018 5:57 pm

Update:

The files that I have been given weren't from a GoPro in the end. He used a Sony RX100 M6 and shot in 4K.

I loaded the nine clips into PRE 14 and they appeared to be ok. However, on trying to edit, the playback from the timeline strobes violently and scrolling to jumps about making editing impossible.

As a trial, I saved the clips individually from the timeline at the 1080 HD setting. I loaded the resulting files back in and they play ok and are very sharp. The only problem is that the transfer has 'zoomed' in cutting off quite a bit of the image.

It seems that I am not going to be able to edit 4K files on my current set-up unless one of you knowledgeable gents have the answer.

Regards
Layman John :)

Update on the above Update

I've just loaded the 4K files back into PRE14 and there's no strobing or juddering. Saved as an HD 1080 file and it works perfectly and no 'zooming' in. Although not 4K the quality is much greater than I was getting previously with AVCHD footage. What I have noticed is that the Project Setting looks different to when the footage was strobing. So, something odd must have happened but I have no idea what.
Cameras:
[1] Sony RX100 M6
[2] Panasonic HC-X920
Software:
Win 10
Adobe Premiere Elements 14
Sonicfire Pro 6.0
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 3 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
32 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
User avatar
John Walker
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:42 am

Hmm. Does that mean all is well now, John?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12833
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby John Walker » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:52 am

Hi Steve,

Yes, all ok now. I did another test and found that the first clip might have some kind of fault. If I start a new project with that as the first clip the Project Settings are different to if I use any of the other clips as the first clip added. It threw me as it was the first time I had tried 4K footage so wrongly assumed that PRE14 and my PC couldn't handle it. I've made a note of the Project Settings that work fine.

So, it seems I'm up and running now.

John
Cameras:
[1] Sony RX100 M6
[2] Panasonic HC-X920
Software:
Win 10
Adobe Premiere Elements 14
Sonicfire Pro 6.0
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 3 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
32 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
User avatar
John Walker
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Editing with 4K files

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:42 pm

Great to know you're up and running again, John!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12833
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 14 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron