They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Topaz AI Gigapixel

MUsic / VIdeo / PIX related, plugins, filters, must have tools.

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby RJ Johnston » Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:10 am

Version 4 of AI Gigapixel is available. Just run your registered version of AI Gigapixel and you'll be prompted. This version includes option to use maximum quality AI models, bug fixes, additional options for noise and blur. This is really, really special.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3052
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Mar 28, 2019 6:56 am

Thanks again for the tip, Robert!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13109
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby Bob » Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:11 pm

Installed my upgrade to version 4 yesterday and tried it out. I like it! A lot!

Here is their version 4 walkthrough:

User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5861
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:58 am

Time to eat my words...

John 'twosheds' McDonald wrote:AI Gigapixel did a better job than CS6. In my case the number of occassions when I might need such image enlargments make it difficult to justify the $99.99 expenditure when Photoshop can achieve an acceptable, though less good, result. Just my twopennyworth.

I had received a photograph from one of my Sicilian friends. The photo was sent via a smartphone and had original dimensions of 1,600 x 900 pixels and the file size was 170KB. By the time I had cropped out the unnecessary background the image size was down to 504 x 280 and 108KB. I wanted a larger image so I downloaded the trial of AI Gigapixel and by way of a trial I resized the image to 13,000 x 7000 giving a filesize of 263MB.

Trust me when I tell you that the result is truly amazing.

It was a no brainer to purchase the software, especially taking into account the 20% discount that Topaz was offering plus the additional 15% discount from Plugs 'n' Pixels.

Total outlay USD67.99 - the best money that I have spent in quite a while.
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win10 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, Samsung 500GB NVME 970 Evo SSD x 2, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Dell U2719D Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3923
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Apr 19, 2019 3:03 pm

John, How long did it take to process that huge image -- months, weeks, days? Just kidding. I received an update today when I opened AI Gigapixel. I'm processing some pictures taken with a flip phone from years ago. As you say, the results are truly amazing.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3052
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Sat Apr 20, 2019 12:43 am

RJ Johnston wrote:John, How long did it take to process that huge image -- months, weeks, days? Just kidding.

Just a FYI Robert.

I didn't time it but think two to three or so mins was probably about right.

I remain truly awed about just how good an image was produced after that gigantic increase in size.
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win10 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, Samsung 500GB NVME 970 Evo SSD x 2, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Dell U2719D Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3923
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby Bob » Thu May 23, 2019 3:34 pm

For those of you that haven't made the plunge, I decided to show you a sample. This image is a screen capture of the AI Gigapixel preview panel. What it's showing is a tiny portion of an image enlarged 6X and shown at 100% scale (look at the upper left corner for the navigation thumbnail showing the full image and where the sample box is located). The original is at the left and the AI Gigapixel processed image is at the right. I used the "medium" noise reduction setting. Be sure to click on the image to see the full sized capture.

sample_ai_gigapixel_6x.JPG


I'll let you decide whether this is amazing or not. ;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5861
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby Dave McElderry » Thu May 23, 2019 5:10 pm

No doubt about it. It’s amazing.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4128
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri May 24, 2019 3:56 pm

Yes, quite amazing !
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17672
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Sun Jun 16, 2019 1:03 am

I had some very poor quality video that I had copied from my monitor. It was a short clip about one of my dogs that had been posted on facebook. Sadly that dog had died in March 2019 but I had wanted to keep that bit of video (only 22 seconds worth) hence my copying it. But the video size was small as you can imagine and the quality was not so good. So I Googled and came across this:-

https://captrobau.blogspot.com/2019/05/ ... az-ai.html

I followed the instructions given and upscaled the original video to 720p. Whilst the results were not particularly good (bear in mind my source video!) as a memory of my dog the output was good enough.

Who would have thought AI Gigapixel for video?
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win10 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, Samsung 500GB NVME 970 Evo SSD x 2, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Dell U2719D Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3923
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Topaz AI Gigapixel

Postby RJ Johnston » Sun Jun 16, 2019 6:14 pm

It does work, although I use Vegas instead of FFMpeg. Because of the time it takes, I only extract the best frames from the video and put them through AI Gigapixel. Then I use them in a slideshow.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3052
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Previous

Return to Tools 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron