They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby HSA » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:39 pm

When I try to post a new message or reply question, I get a "Server Error, Contact the Site Administer" error. I've tried multiple times; same result.

Any ideas?

Thank you,

Howard
HSA
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:47 pm

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:42 am

This post posted, didn't it?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13155
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby Peru » Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:21 am

The site was probably down and it's back up now.
I had a similar problem a short while back.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3350
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby HSA » Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:01 pm

Steve Grisetti wrote:This post posted, didn't it?

______

Yes, curiously that was the issue.

I could post to the administrative sections (such as here, about computers, and to Ron, who changed my subscription status), but I could not post to any substantive Premier Elements-related thread. I received only the “Server Error” message.

I’ll try again, thank you.
HSA
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:47 pm

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby Ron » Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:13 pm

Yes, let me know if it keeps happening.
Regards,
-Ron

Dell, Win10 Pro, Intel Core i7-6700 CPU @3.4GhHz, 8GB ram. 64-bit
User avatar
Ron
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3175
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:57 am
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby HSA » Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:37 pm

Ron wrote:Yes, let me know if it keeps happening.


Ron, matters remain the same.

Yes, I am posting this message to you in the "Computers" thread. But that's not the matter of concern.

I have been trying to post a short question about Menu Templates in the Premier Elements 11 section, but I am unable to do so. Whether attempting to Preview or Submit, I get only the "SERVER ERROR" message; cannot post.

Your help appreciated.

Howard
HSA
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:47 pm

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Mar 24, 2019 5:53 pm

FWIW I had no problems posting a test post to the Premiere Elements 11 forum, Howard. (I've since deleted it.)

Which browser are you using?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13155
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby HSA » Sun Mar 24, 2019 6:47 pm

I have two separate computers, both Firefox and Windows Explorer on each.

Here is the exact reply [via copy/paste] when I try to post to the Premier Elements 11 tab, using either browser:


Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
Please contact the server administrator to inform of the time the error occurred and of anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Web Server at muvipix.com
HSA
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:47 pm

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Mar 24, 2019 9:10 pm

I'm not sure what's up, Howard. As I say, I had no problems posting, so I wonder if it's something at your end.

Strange though that you'd have the same problem with both computers and two different browsers!

Maybe someone better versed at web interfaces can figure how how you can post to area of our forum but no place else.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13155
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby HSA » Sun Mar 24, 2019 9:49 pm

Well, I tried one final experiment.

Heretofore, I composed my question in my wordprocessor, then copied/pasted it to the Muvipix thread. No matter what thread I posted to, or created a new one, I got only the "SERVER ERROR" message. This never happened before.

As a final experiment, I opened a thread and MANUALLY RE-TYPED my question, leaving out some hyphens and quote marks. It posted without problem!

Can anyone figure out why the copied/pasted message created a Server Error, but not after a manual re-type?

Thanks,

Howard
HSA
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:47 pm

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby Ron » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:54 am

HSA wrote:Heretofore, I composed my question in my wordprocessor, then copied/pasted it to the Muvipix thread. No matter what thread I posted to, or created a new one, I got only the "SERVER ERROR" message. This never happened before.

You left that part out.... :)

When you copy from a word processor, I recommend that you paste it into a basic text editor first (ie, Notepad) - then, copy/paste again. When copying from [Word], it also copies all off the formatting parameters that this board software doesn't know what to do with.
Regards,
-Ron

Dell, Win10 Pro, Intel Core i7-6700 CPU @3.4GhHz, 8GB ram. 64-bit
User avatar
Ron
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3175
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:57 am
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Can't Post --- Server Error Message

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:21 am

Excellent suggestion, Ron! That makes sense.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13155
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests