They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Project Settings/choppy video problem

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 10.

Project Settings/choppy video problem

Postby linz8200ga » Thu May 30, 2013 9:59 am

Hello!

I have a Canon Rebel T3i that I am using to record video at 1920x1080 (30fps). The videos are 12 mins in length. When I view uploaded videos in Elements Organizer, they play just fine. When I add the video to Premiere Elements via Elements Organizer they play very choppy/slow with the audio not matching the video. This is all before I even edit anything, therefore no rendering is needed. I am not seeing any red lines, or even green lines.

Do I have the project setting wrong? I have tried DSLR 1080p30 and several other settings. Everytime I do this, it tells me "Mismatched Project Settings Preset: The format of the clips are you adding do not match the project setting format. For best results you should use a project preset that matches your clips. Do you want to change the project settings to match your clips?" I say YES, and then the video still plays choppy and bad.

When I go to Edit, Project settings, it looks like it changes the settings to DSLR 1080p30 @29.97. (I have tried used this setting from the start as well with no success)

My computer has an Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU, 6420 @ 2.13GHz, 2.13 GHz, 1.98 GB of RAM. Is this adequate for this type of video editing????

Am I missing something?? Any suggestions?? I can not reshoot the video, so that is not an option.

PLEASE HELP...I am facing a deadline and need to get this done ASAP.

Thanks so much in advance!!!!!!!!! ](*,)
linz8200ga
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:43 pm

Re: Project Settings/choppy video problem

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Thu May 30, 2013 10:05 am

My initial thought is that your computer is not powerful enough - but I'm sure others will chip in with advice (I am a PPro user not a PrEl user so I am afraid I can't help further).

In any event, welcome to Muvipix. :meet:
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Samsung Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3833
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Project Settings/choppy video problem

Postby linz8200ga » Thu May 30, 2013 10:16 am

Thanks for the quick response.

Here's something that I have just tried out...I cut the 12 min video down to about 2 mins, put in a few transitions so that it would need to be rendered. I got the red lines only above the transition areas...I rendered and the those small lines turned green. But no green line above the whole video still.

If this is a computer issue...do you think that this computer would work????

Intel Core i5-2400CPU @ 3.10GHz
Installed Memory (RAM): 3.00GB
System Type: 64-bit Operating System

I still would prefer to use the orignal computer that I posted info about in my intial post. Everything is already installed on it etc...
linz8200ga
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:43 pm

Re: Project Settings/choppy video problem

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu May 30, 2013 3:48 pm

Is this i5 a dual-core or quad-core?

In any event, with the 64-bit version 7, I'd recommend 6 gigs of RAM for best performance.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12820
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Project Settings/choppy video problem

Postby Barb O » Fri May 31, 2013 11:56 am

Steve and linz8200ga,
I thought that the i5-2400 is a quad core. I checked at the http://ark.intel.com/products/52207 site and saw :
Processor Number i5-2400
# of Cores 4
# of Threads 4
Clock Speed 3.1 GHz
Max Turbo Frequency 3.4 GHz

and also
Processor Graphics Intel® HD Graphics 2000
Graphics Base Frequency 850 MHz
Graphics Max Dynamic Frequency 1.1 GHz
Intel® Quick Sync Video Yes
Barb O
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:42 am

Re: Project Settings/choppy video problem

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri May 31, 2013 12:09 pm

Thanks, Barb. It may be a lack of RAM then. Although this isn't terribly intensive video, so it shouldn't be too choppy if it matches the project settings.

linz, when you add clips from the camera to your timeline, is there a red line above the clips?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12820
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Project Settings/choppy video problem

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Fri May 31, 2013 2:04 pm

linz8200ga wrote:....I am not seeing any red lines, or even green lines.....

Apparently not, Steve. :(
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Samsung Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3833
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Project Settings/choppy video problem

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri May 31, 2013 2:06 pm

Hmm. I'm not sure what's up then. Sorry.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12820
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Project Settings/choppy video problem

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Fri May 31, 2013 2:10 pm

I think I will stick with my original theory backed up by your suggestion, Steve. Underpowered PC either because of insufficient RAM or a badly fragmented/too full HDD.
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Samsung Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3833
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily


Return to PRE Version 10 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron