They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Lots of discussion brewing on this awesome consumer video editing software. Would love to hear from experienced users.

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Paul LS » Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:58 pm

Robert, as far as you are aware is it a complete download... all plugins/extras or do you get any additional items with the boxed version?
Paul LS
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby RJ Johnston » Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:45 pm

Paul,

Everything is there in the download. If you buy the boxed full version, not the upgrade version, you get a green screen backdrop.


Here is the Avid Studio forum:
http://forums.pinnaclesys.com/forums/242/ShowForum.aspx
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Mon Mar 14, 2011 8:13 pm

Wow, RJ, you did not even wait for a trial version, you dove right in and bought it! :TU:
I will probably buy it too, I'm so frustrated with PRE at the moment ( I might start a thread with the problem I'm having if I can't solve it :pull: ).
Thanks for doing the testing and reporting back about it.
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby RJ Johnston » Mon Mar 14, 2011 11:36 pm

Avid Studio isn't without it's problems. While exporting to AVCHD 1440x1080, I discovered that Avid is using a 1.0 square pixel aspect ratio, which causes the video to be displayed improperly.

I'm a little disappointed that you can't create your own FX presets that you can save, especially since some effects have some sophisticated settings.

One exciting feature is being able to use a movie project as a "clip" in another movies timeline. You can even apply effects and transitions to it.

You can apply non-destructive corrections to assets in the Library, and then those corrections are automatically applied when you drag the asset to the timeline in any movie project. You can override those corrections. This is something like in Magix's apps.
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:37 am

I was trying to figure out how to do a track matte effect like you can do in Premiere Elements, but I couldn't find an effect like that. Then it hit me, you have to use the sub-project feature. If I want to punch a hole (a hole the shape of a cow) through a image so I can see an underlying background image through the cow hole, I need a sub-project where there is a green cow on track 1 and an image on track 2. That gets saved as project1. Then in project-2, I put project-1 on the timeline as a clip and apply a green chromakey effect to it. It's a very nice chromakey effect. Avid Studio in this case treats project-1 as a composite, and the cow hole goes all the way through project-1 to reveal whatever is on track 2 of project 2. If you double-click on the project-1 "clip," a sub-project window opens up so you can edit project-1.

After editing for a while, I sometimes get a "low on memory, exit Avid Studio" message.

I'm still trying to figure out how to close a gap in the timeline and have the following clips ripple. If you fill the gap with something, and then delete that something, the following clips close up.
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:29 pm

Hi RJ

I'm still trying to figure out how to close a gap in the timeline and have the following clips ripple. If you fill the gap with something, and then delete that something, the following clips close up.


This seems to be the same behavior as in Pinnacle Studio. I found somewhere to press > ctrl + ; <, but I can't remember if this was for Studio or MEP. It could also be > Shift + ; < or just > ; <

There is a clip about different trim modes, maybe that will be of some help. You find it on the tutorial page and it is titled 'Editing-Professional Techniques'
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:07 pm

Thanks for the link.

I had to read the manual to find out what I wanted to know. It involves selecting all clips on all tracks to the right of where you click using CTRL-SHIFT-Click. Then you can move all selected clips over to the left to fill a gap and keep everything in sync. For moving and rippling on just one track, you click and drag on the lower half of the clip head.
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:38 pm

I'm glad you figured it out :TU:

Still waiting for the trial :- . Rumor has it it should be posted around March 23. I hope that is true.
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Paul LS » Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:57 am

Thanks for the updates Robert. My birthday is coming up soon... perhaps I'll get the wife to buy it for me :)
Paul LS
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:38 am

Also not officially announced, the trial of Avid Studio is available! :yh:
Someone at the Avid forum posted this
I have it installed, it is only a basic version , no plug-ins as far as I can tell. I have not done a lot, but it seems very intuitive and easy to use.
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Paul LS » Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:38 pm

Yes, it seems a little small at 2.65GB :)
Paul LS
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:50 pm

There's about 4.4 GB to download the software, and another 2.6 GB to download the training video. The same training lessons, however, are available on Avid's website.
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:21 pm

It could be that they are still working on the additional content for the trial version, since they haven't announced that the trial is available. The trial is only good for 15 days, maybe I should have waited for the announcement. :-k

RJ, I was wondering if there are some additional tutorials available, but it does not look like it. They want you to buy the training dvd :-D
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:12 pm

For $49.99 US you can download the Complete Training tutorials. There's over 8 hours of training. There's about 1.6 GB to download.

It doesn't include 100 percent of everything there is to know about Avid Studio, but it does include important information and useful tips and tricks I wouldn't have known about. For example, sliding a clip left or right without unsyncing everything. Try this:

1. Have three clips on the track butted up against each other: 1--2--3--
2. Click on the right edge of clip 1 so the edge turns yellow.
3. Hold down the CTRL key and click on the left edge of clip 3 so the edge turns yellow.

So now the right edit of clip 1 and the left edge of clip 3 are yellow. You can now slide clip 2 left or right. Only clip 2 moves. Clip 1 or 3 will be trim adjusted. It helps to have extra frames on the ends of clips 1 and 3 to borrow from, otherwise you will get still frames as indicated by the pink areas.
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:17 pm

Thanks for the tip RJ. I will start a little project over the weekend to make myself familiar with the program. If I buy it, I may get the training too.
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

PreviousNext

Return to Avid Studio 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest