They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2021
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 19
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Lots of discussion brewing on this awesome consumer video editing software. Would love to hear from experienced users.

Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:38 am

I spend some tonight to check out the new Avid Studio and I must say, I am impressed with the program. Hopefully they will offer a trial version soon to get some real world hands-on experience. It is a more professional version of Pinnacle Studio, but more user friendly than Avid Liquid ( this was discussed before here).
The regular price is $169, but if you own any of the Pinnacle Studio 9 or higher versions, you can upgrade for $99.
The editing interface is great and the "Organizer", called Library is outstanding. It seems really easy to use. But before I have tried it, I won't jump to conclusions. Here is a Link to explore for yourself.
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Paul LS » Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:22 am

The thing that interests me is the $2,000 worth of free Red GIant plugins as below. Those are some great plug-ins:-

- Knoll Light Factory — Light and lens flares from master effects guru John Knoll (visual effects supervisor; Star Wars, Pirates of the Caribbean, Avatar)
- ToonIt — Turn video into animation
- Trapcode Shine — Light-ray effects
- Trapcode Particular — 3D smoke, explosion, and rain effects
- Magic Bullet Looks — Change the look of your movie
- Trapcode 3D Stroke — Animation and 3D effects
Paul LS
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby RJ Johnston » Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:21 am

I got many of those plugins when I purchased Pinnacle Studio 14 HD Ultimate Collection. I barely scratched the surface with them. I might have to try out Avid. Not that I need another editor, but considering how much standalone plugins cost, $99 isn't too much for an upgrade.

I see that Avid Studio doesn't support Windows XP. That let's me out.
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3122
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:35 am

I love the Red Giant plugins too, although I am still learning how to use them. As I red that Avis Studio comes with the same plugins I already got with Studio 14, I didn't thing about upgrading at all. But now that I have seen how nice Avid Studio's interface is and it seems much more capable as Pinnacle Studio, I am very tempted to upgrade. As RJ said, not that I need another video editor :-
I use Pinnacle Studio mostly for the special effects and I must say, I love the tutorials and Webinars on their site. I wish Magix MEP17 had something like that. I just finished a big project using mostly MEP17 and finishing up in PRE9. Having different options is great. I had sometimes all 3 programs open at the same time and they did not interfere with each other. But then it was only sd footage, but all in .mpg format.
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:10 pm

RJ, look what I found here :cool:


I see that Avid Studio doesn't support Windows XP. That let's me out.
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:51 pm

Oh sure, just when I thought it wouldn't work for me ...
Now I might have to try it out anyway, thanks Gerlinde :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18018
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Thu Mar 10, 2011 7:44 pm

Oooh, I am so sorry Chuck :---)

Good to know, that I'm not the only one tempted by shiny things like that :angel12:
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Mar 11, 2011 2:01 am

gpecht wrote:RJ, look what I found here :cool:


Darn!
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3122
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Chris B » Sat Mar 12, 2011 9:12 am

I'm perfectly happy with Vegas Movie Studio - but I'm almost tempted for those Red Giant plugins.. (I note that the upgrade requires a previous version of which you can buy out of date ones really cheap so get the full one for less). Having said that the full one also includes a green screen.... Do I really need it though?

Having a quick look at the tutorials it interesting how some features are a "big thing". Looking at the advanced editing they are talking about ripple edits across multiple tracks - something PE and VMS have been doing for years - but those plugins are really advanced - I don't think anyone else offers particle plugins for example.
Intel Core i7 8700 - 32GB DDR4 - 500GB Evo 970 SSD - 3+2 TB HDD - GTX 1080- MSI Z370 Pro - Win10 64 bit - Cannon HV30 (PAL) - Sony A6000 - GoPro 3 Black
User avatar
Chris B
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:31 pm

Hi Chris,
Having a quick look at the tutorials it interesting how some features are a "big thing". Looking at the advanced editing they are talking about ripple edits across multiple tracks - something PE and VMS have been doing for years -


It is a "big thing"for Pinnacle Studio users. Studio has only 3 tracks : 1 video, 1 title and 1 sound track. The question is how the ripple over multiple tracks works in practice. I am not really good with that feature in PRE, even with holding down the Ctrl key when inserting a song or a clip somewhere in a multiple track project, I am always ending up with a big mess in the end. I am not saying it is not possible, I am just saying it is not very easy to do. I have a lot less problems with multiple track editing in Magix' MEP17. It has different mouse modes for single or multiple track editing and you can easily see when you screwed up, it creates a hole in you timeline.

also includes a green screen.... Do I really need it though?


This became already a joke by Pinnacle users, because there is always a green screen included when you buy the boxed version and it does not matter if it is an upgrade or the full version. How many green screens do you need to make a snuggy or could they maybe include a blue screen once in a while?
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Chris B » Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:48 pm

The question is how the ripple over multiple tracks works in practice.


The "Advanced editing" tutorial from your link above goes in to quite a lot of detail about the different options. There seems a lot more "direct" or "manual" control than in some programs - which might be easier or might be more of a pain to use dependent on what you're expecting/used to.
Intel Core i7 8700 - 32GB DDR4 - 500GB Evo 970 SSD - 3+2 TB HDD - GTX 1080- MSI Z370 Pro - Win10 64 bit - Cannon HV30 (PAL) - Sony A6000 - GoPro 3 Black
User avatar
Chris B
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Gerlinde » Sat Mar 12, 2011 1:02 pm

I wish they would offer a trial version of the program, so you could actually see how it works on you particular computer. There is a forum for Avid Studio on the Pinnacle site with a lot of information and posts from people who bought already the download version. Forum
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby AVITRY » Sat Mar 12, 2011 6:14 pm

Wow, although I don't do a whole lot of video editing as most all of what I do is secondary editing on vhs to dvds, I always enjoy looking into new video editors.

One thing I've always disliked is when the timeline tracks display what I call backwards. Avid has it right and I loved watching the tutorials. I thought to myself, whew, thank goodness it doesn't work on XP, I just saved some money. But now ... with that last post ... well, I'm sure RJ will test and report. :-D I can't wait, I may have to get this also.
ASRock Z68 Extreme 4 Gen/3 motherboard. Core i7 2600 and 16 gigs of ddr3. SSD Crucial boot drive, GTX750 Ti video card. Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit.
AVITRY
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:41 am

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby RJ Johnston » Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:40 am

After downloading over 6 gigabytes, I started the installer and waited for at least three minutes before there was any indication that anything was going on. During that waiting time I was thinking that I would have to request a refund because it was looking like I wouldn't be able to activate it. But the installation finally finished. There was a lot of data extraction from the 4 gigabyte file, not including the 2 GB file containing the lessons.

The program will watch your folders, which on my machine can slow down other activities. The program was happily adding my 10,000 photos and hundreds of videos to the library, but I decided to turn off the folder watching until after I played around a little with the interface.

So it does run on Windows XP Pro (SP3) and a Pentium 4, 3 GHz HyperThreading, 2 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT 1 GB RAM. Neither my operating system nor my computer specs meet AVID Studios minimum requirements. My computer is sluggish when maintaining the assets in the library and when the user interfaces are displayed. Editing is okay, and exporting speed seems reasonable.

If you've used Pinnacle Studio 14, then you'll recognize certain elements also contained within Avid Studio. Maybe it's because AVID was contained within Pinnacle Studio to begin with. But I like Avid Studio better than Pinnacle Studio. When I first started using it, I had the feeling I get when I walk into a model home -- new and exciting with things expertly placed and matched with no regard to whether you could actually live with it.

So now I am trying things out, after being overwhelmed. I've burned two DVDs, captured video from a DV camcorder, and watched the video containing 20 lessons. It's fun, but would be more fun if I had a faster computer.
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3122
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Avid Studio- worth checking out!

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:12 pm

Nice review RJ, thanks for taking the time to give us an update :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18018
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Next

Return to Avid Studio 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest