They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Magix Moments

Talk about the Sony Vegas line of products.

Magix Moments

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Oct 07, 2016 2:41 pm

I am one of those concerned about the takeover of Sony Creative Software by Magix. Here is part of my story.

My experience with the Sony to Magix account transfer went kind of smoothly, but I've had a Magix account for years, and that may have accounted for part of the success. The instructions Magix gave for transferring the Sony account didn't match exactly what really happened. I'm not sure what really happened, though. I just remember there was a curve-ball.

Yesterday I upgraded from Sony Vegas Pro 12 to Vegas Pro 14 Edit ($199). All the extras that you get with the Vegas Pro 14 version I already have a license for, so I didn't have to shell out $50 more.

I was nervous that I wouldn't be able to install it on a second machine with the same serial number. I decided to upgrade after reading a post by a Magix moderator that you could install it on two machines. Still haven't heard back directly from Magix after emailing them regarding serial numbers. That's a moot point now, but it still makes me nervous about customer support.

Now I need to find out what happens when I install Sony Vegas Movie Studio 13 Platinum on this machine. Wish me luck.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3046
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Magix Moments

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Oct 08, 2016 7:56 am

I'm eager to hear of your experience, Robert!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13060
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Magix Moments

Postby TreeTopsRanch » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:01 am

I too had a problem registering. My browser, Firefox, would not recognize my input in their 'capcha' request. I had to resort to using another browser to register.
User avatar
TreeTopsRanch
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: Magix Moments

Postby RJ Johnston » Sat Oct 08, 2016 7:05 pm

Steve Grisetti wrote:I'm eager to hear of your experience, Robert!


Okay, Steve.

On my second PC I installed and registered Movie Studio 13 Platinum without any problems. Couldn't even tell that Magix was involved. I certainly didn't have the same experience when I tried to register Magix Movie Edit Pro, but that isn't a Sony product. The registration process hung. I probably have to deactivate it on my other machine. With some of Magix products, you can only deactivate on one machine and activate on another once a month. So if you need it on two machines, you have to buy two licenses.

Anyway, onward and upward. I'm eager to look at Premiere Elements 15.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3046
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Magix Moments

Postby vkmast » Sun Oct 09, 2016 2:51 am

"I decided to upgrade after reading a post by a Magix moderator that you could install it on two machines."
RJ Johnston is probably referring to this post, which may be well worth reading
https://www.vegascreativesoftware.info/ ... /#ca638061

The current Magix / Magix Vegas sites may still be a bit unclear on which EULA applies to Vegas products. We'll see how it goes.
vkmast
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:09 am
Location: Finland, Europe

Re: Magix Moments

Postby RJ Johnston » Sun Oct 09, 2016 1:18 pm

I think the post you have a link to, VKMAST, is the one that made me nervous after reading it. There's another post, somewhere, with fewer replies and mostly by moderators.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3046
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Magix Moments

Postby RJ Johnston » Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:12 pm

Finally received an email from Magix sales stating that they will "tolerate" installing Vegas on two machines if used by only one user.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3046
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Magix Moments

Postby vkmast » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:03 am

RJ Johnston wrote:Finally received an email from Magix sales stating that they will "tolerate" installing Vegas on two machines if used by only one user.

Any mention of their "tolerating" simultaneous use on two machines by one user? SCS did not allow that.
I might "tolerate" the use of the word "tolerate", if your answer came from behind the language barrier of the MAGIX VEGAS German sector.
vkmast
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:09 am
Location: Finland, Europe

Re: Magix Moments

Postby RJ Johnston » Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:27 pm

Instead of "tolerate" they could have said "permit" or "allow," for example, or not said anything at all.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3046
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Magix Moments

Postby Peru » Thu Oct 13, 2016 2:38 pm

RJ Johnston wrote:Instead of "tolerate" they could have said "permit" or "allow," for example, or not said anything at all.


It may be that English is not their first language and/or they were using a translator.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3289
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA


Return to Vegas 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron