They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to Cyberlink PowerDirector 18
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Over exposure correction?

Talk about the Sony Vegas line of products.

Over exposure correction?

Postby MrGrunthunter » Sat May 02, 2015 10:58 pm

I've got about an hours worth of video that I recorded with my SONY FDR AX100 of my sons soccer game today. I thought I had the ND filters activated but apparently I didn't :-(

Is there any way I can correct for this in my SONY Movie Studio 13 Suite software? I found a brightness and Contrast FX but I haven't had much luck with it.
Dell PC WINDOWS 10 PRO, 64-bit, Ver:1607, OS BLD: 14393.1066
INTEL Core: i7-4790, CPU @3.60 GHz, Instld RAM:16.0 GB
GeForce GTX 745, Driver ver: 376.53, Tot avail grap: 12225 MB, Ded vid mem: 4096 MB DDR3
Shared Sys Mem: 8159 MB, DirectX Runtime Ver:12.0
User avatar
MrGrunthunter
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 1:25 pm
Location: Space Coast of Florida

Re: Over exposure correction?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun May 03, 2015 7:51 am

It depends on how over-exposed it is, MrG.

A little bright may be fixable. But if colors are washed out completely, there's just no way to recover them.

If you'd like, you post a screen capture of a typical shot and we can advise if we think it's fixable.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13269
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Over exposure correction?

Postby sidd finch » Sun May 03, 2015 3:14 pm

You might check the software to see if it has an auto color effect you can place on the clip.

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4733
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Over exposure correction?

Postby MrGrunthunter » Sun May 03, 2015 6:48 pm

Sidd,
I suspected I can't get it back to where I'd like to have it but I think there should be some ways I can correct it a little anyway. I've tried saving a screen capture and posting it but I'm not sure I've done it correctly.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dell PC WINDOWS 10 PRO, 64-bit, Ver:1607, OS BLD: 14393.1066
INTEL Core: i7-4790, CPU @3.60 GHz, Instld RAM:16.0 GB
GeForce GTX 745, Driver ver: 376.53, Tot avail grap: 12225 MB, Ded vid mem: 4096 MB DDR3
Shared Sys Mem: 8159 MB, DirectX Runtime Ver:12.0
User avatar
MrGrunthunter
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 1:25 pm
Location: Space Coast of Florida

Re: Over exposure correction?

Postby Kent Frost » Mon May 04, 2015 12:36 am

I do see some hotspots in there, but over all you've got a lot of detail you can use to back the brightness/exposure off. You might try adding a Levels effect to it and backing the Gamma level below it's default of 1.0. It won't take much so be sure to tread lightly with that setting.
Dell Studio XPS 8100, Intel Core i7 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 64-Bit Win7. Camera gear: 2x Canon 550D's, 1x Canon EOS 6D body, Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 & 17-50mm f2.8, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 & 24-70mm f/2.8L, and two 420EX flashes.
User avatar
Kent Frost
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:48 pm

Re: Over exposure correction?

Postby MrGrunthunter » Mon May 04, 2015 1:00 pm

Many Thanks Kent,
I was trying to use the 'brightness/contrast' function and it just wasn't doing what I wanted it to. I hadn't tried the 'Levels Effect' before and it did seem easier to use and pretty much did what I was wanting. Obviously it can't correct completely for operator error :-) but I'll just have to keep learning from my mistakes. This new SONY FDR AX100 has built in ND filters but I forgot to take the camera out of AUTO mode so they weren't working for me and didn't figure that out until I got back home and had more time to play with it. Now for the time consuming task of saving the file to my hard drive and then uploading to youtube so I can share it with all the teams parents.
Mike
Dell PC WINDOWS 10 PRO, 64-bit, Ver:1607, OS BLD: 14393.1066
INTEL Core: i7-4790, CPU @3.60 GHz, Instld RAM:16.0 GB
GeForce GTX 745, Driver ver: 376.53, Tot avail grap: 12225 MB, Ded vid mem: 4096 MB DDR3
Shared Sys Mem: 8159 MB, DirectX Runtime Ver:12.0
User avatar
MrGrunthunter
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 1:25 pm
Location: Space Coast of Florida


Return to Vegas 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest