They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2022
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 19
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Circle of dots Question

A discussion area specific to the Photoshop Pro versions.

Circle of dots Question

Postby momoffduty » Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:36 am

How do you create an evenly spaced circle of dots? I tried making a brush with the spacing I wanted, hardness, size and then tried brushing onto a circle. It was uneven and hand drawn look. If I use the pen tool to create a circle path again it is uneven. If I use the round selection tool to make my circle, how do I then place the dots around the circle. What I ended up doing was making a circle with the selection and filled with color. I then used the brush to place each dot around the circle like a clock positions. There has to be an easier way.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7364
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Circle of dots Question

Postby Gerlinde » Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:08 pm

A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Circle of dots Question

Postby Bob » Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:09 pm

It's certainly easier in Illustrator, but if you don't have it you can do it in Photoshop or AE.

In Photoshop, use a shape layer and set the stroke and fill parameters as desired. You'll need to use trial and error to balance the size of the dots and the spacing.

dots-photoshop.JPG


It's probably easier to do in AE. You still use a shape layer, but you have more control. When satisfied, use composition>Save frame as...>Photoshop layers to create a file which can be opened in Photoshop. It will be rasterized, not a shape layer.

dots-AE.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5917
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Circle of dots Question

Postby momoffduty » Mon Feb 01, 2016 3:22 pm

Gerlinde, nice find! I bookmarked and will look thru their site.

Bob, thanks for both how to's. I have PS cs5 and things look different.
I made a circle with the shape tool, went to the Path panel and stroked the path. Had my brush ready first.

Thank you both!
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7364
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Circle of dots Question

Postby momoffduty » Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:49 pm

Tried to do this again a few hours later and forgot how I did it. Finally figured it out

Make a new Path icon first and then use the shape tool to make the circle. ](*,) Thanks again for your help. My practice piece:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7364
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Circle of dots Question

Postby Bob » Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:20 pm

Sorry, I forgot you had CS5. That version doesn't have that feature. Prior to CS6, you need to stroke the path manually. :(
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5917
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Circle of dots Question

Postby momoffduty » Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:07 pm

No worries Bob. I thought only the pen tool could make a path, but with your help I now know the shape tool can too. :-D
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7364
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis


Return to Photoshop 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron