They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Dual Monitors

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 8.

Dual Monitors

Postby pch006 » Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:43 pm

A Tech friend of mine took what I thought was a dead flat screen monitor of mine I'd put in the garage. He fixed it! He came over and was able to attach it to my computer along with the monitor I am now using. My main monitor has my icons on it and the second monitor that he hooked up for me just has the back ground image. Now... how do I take advantage of having two working monitors attached to my computer? One thing I noticed was my pointer would get stuck over on the non icon monitor and it took a lot of effort to get it back to my regular monitor. Right now, I have the second monitor turned off. Can one edit with two monitors in PrE-8?
pch006
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:49 pm

Re: Duel Monitors

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Sat Apr 07, 2012 1:01 am

Hi Paul. A lot of us here use two monitors. In fact, once you have used two you'll wonder how you ever managed with just one.

How to set it up depends on the version of Windows that you are using and I can't remember, for example, how I did it in XP. For Win 7 click on:-

Control Panel>Display>Change Display Settings.

Select the option to 'Extend these displays'
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Samsung Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3815
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Duel Monitors

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Apr 07, 2012 9:37 am

Yep, that's it exactly, John. You'll then have the option of setting up with monitor is your left and which is your right hand monitor (or above and below, if you prefer).

Once it's set up, you can drag floating panels or icons from one monitor to the other as if it were the same, extended desktop.

If you right-click on the Task Bar, you can even unlock it and drag it to whichever monitor you want it to be on.

Can you be a bit more specific, Paul, on what you mean by "it took a lot effort" to get the mouse pointer from one monitor to another? You didn't use a crowbar on your computer or anything, I hope!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12729
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Duel Monitors

Postby pch006 » Sat Apr 07, 2012 10:34 am

Thanks guys... Okay, so now I have the two monitors working! I have my main monitor (#1) in front of me and if I move my pointer all the way to the right, it appears coming in on the left side of the left monitor (#2). A little awkward. Should I make my #1 monitor #2? So now, in PrE how do I move the preview screen to the 2n'd monitor?
pch006
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:49 pm

Re: Duel Monitors

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Apr 07, 2012 1:48 pm

right click on your desktop and select Properties, then Settings.
You will see the two monitors, drag monitor 2 over to the left of monitor 1 and drop it there, now your monitors are reversed :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17513
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Duel Monitors

Postby Bob » Sat Apr 07, 2012 2:44 pm

Chuck, are you still using Windows XP?

For Windows 7, it's right click on the desktop and select Screen Resolution. You could also get there using the control panel.
Nevertheless, once you get there, as Chuck said, you can drag the monitor icons to change the logical order of the screens. The way you are set up, that will make the monitor on your left the main screen.

If that isn't what you want, say you want the one in front of you to remain the main screen, don't change the logical order by dragging the icons. You will need to physically place the left monitor to the right of the main monitor.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5747
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Dual Monitors

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Apr 07, 2012 5:52 pm

XP on my home computers, Win7 64bit on my work laptop :)
When I wrote the instructions it was from my home computer, wasn't thinking :OOPS:
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17513
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to PRE Version 8 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron