They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 17
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Discussions concerning Premiere Elements version 1 - 4.

Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Tony Wade » Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:12 am

I do an edit, export and/or create a DVD, shut down PE3...Then later I go back to the job to make changes, and it won't load into the program. Either from 'recent projects' or from 'open project'.
Program hangs up. When I right click to shut down program, it gives a 'program not responding' notice.
This just started happening, after no problems for 3 years.
Any ideas?
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790 (3.6GHz) 8MB Cache.
ASUS® H81-Gamer: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs.
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB).
2GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 - 2 x DVI, HDMI, DP
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
User avatar
Tony Wade
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 6:22 am
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Tony Wade » Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:19 am

BTW, I tried a repair install, and that didn't work
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790 (3.6GHz) 8MB Cache.
ASUS® H81-Gamer: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs.
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB).
2GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 - 2 x DVI, HDMI, DP
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
User avatar
Tony Wade
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 6:22 am
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Paul LS » Tue Dec 20, 2011 4:27 am

That is odd. Have you loaded any new programs lately?
Paul LS
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Tony Wade » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:04 am

No, nothing.
Something happened just now. I left a job trying to load, and went away to do something else, and came back and the job loaded in my absence. So, I guess I have to leave it for a long time?
BUT, what would cause it to take so long to load?
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790 (3.6GHz) 8MB Cache.
ASUS® H81-Gamer: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs.
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB).
2GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 - 2 x DVI, HDMI, DP
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
User avatar
Tony Wade
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 6:22 am
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Tony Wade » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:23 am

I tried another job load, waited about 10 minutes and it loaded. Nothing else on the computer is slow. This is weird...
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790 (3.6GHz) 8MB Cache.
ASUS® H81-Gamer: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs.
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB).
2GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 - 2 x DVI, HDMI, DP
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
User avatar
Tony Wade
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 6:22 am
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:39 am

Download this:-

http://enditall.en.softonic.com/

It is a program called Enditall and it stops all but the essential background processes.

I used to use it when I had an XP machine to free up resources for video editing. As with all downloads, take the approriate precautions.
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12 cores/24 threads, ASUS x570 mobo, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVME 970 Evo SSD, LG BD Burner, Dell U2717D Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3977
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Tony Wade » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:41 am

Thanks John. I already have a thing called 'Game Booster', however, I've never had this problem before, and nothing's changed...
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790 (3.6GHz) 8MB Cache.
ASUS® H81-Gamer: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs.
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB).
2GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 - 2 x DVI, HDMI, DP
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
User avatar
Tony Wade
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 6:22 am
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:45 am

Hi Tony.

My thinking was that it might help to identify if there were any problems present. For example, if the PC performed normally once all unneccessary processes had been stopped.
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12 cores/24 threads, ASUS x570 mobo, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVME 970 Evo SSD, LG BD Burner, Dell U2717D Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3977
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Tony Wade » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:49 am

I installed Enditall and uninstalled the game booster.
No change
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790 (3.6GHz) 8MB Cache.
ASUS® H81-Gamer: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs.
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB).
2GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 - 2 x DVI, HDMI, DP
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
User avatar
Tony Wade
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 6:22 am
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:56 am

Another thought - available (work) space on your HDDs?
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12 cores/24 threads, ASUS x570 mobo, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVME 970 Evo SSD, LG BD Burner, Dell U2717D Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3977
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Tony Wade » Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:04 am

Hundreds of gigs available on all of them. Total 6 TB
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790 (3.6GHz) 8MB Cache.
ASUS® H81-Gamer: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs.
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB).
2GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 - 2 x DVI, HDMI, DP
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
User avatar
Tony Wade
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 6:22 am
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Tony Wade » Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:09 am

I have also defragged.
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790 (3.6GHz) 8MB Cache.
ASUS® H81-Gamer: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs.
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB).
2GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 - 2 x DVI, HDMI, DP
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
User avatar
Tony Wade
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 6:22 am
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Tony Wade » Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:51 am

I have also tested my WD hard drives with the WD testing program. All good.
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790 (3.6GHz) 8MB Cache.
ASUS® H81-Gamer: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs.
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB).
2GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 - 2 x DVI, HDMI, DP
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
User avatar
Tony Wade
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 6:22 am
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, UK

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Ron » Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:12 am

Maybe a Windows Restore? Can you go back to a time where everything worked OK? Could be something as invariable as a Windows Update that's causing it.
Regards,
-Ron

Dell, Win10 Pro, Intel Core i7-6700 CPU @3.4GhHz, 8GB ram. 64-bit
User avatar
Ron
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:57 am
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Previous Edit Jobs Won't Load? PE3

Postby Tony Wade » Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:26 am

Aaah. OK. I'll try a restore, thanks.
Yea, everything is fine, except for loading PE3 edit jobs. I HAVE had some updates lately...Will do now...
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790 (3.6GHz) 8MB Cache.
ASUS® H81-Gamer: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs.
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB).
2GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 - 2 x DVI, HDMI, DP
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
User avatar
Tony Wade
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 6:22 am
Location: St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, UK

Next

Return to Prior Versions 


Similar topics

25 fps or 50fps Load on CPU
Forum: PRE version 2018
Author: John Walker
Replies: 18

Edit 360 video in Premiere
Forum: Premiere Pro
Author: sidd finch
Replies: 1

J-L or L-J Edit ???
Forum: Vegas
Author: N5GP
Replies: 5

Vegas Pro 15 Edit offer
Forum: Vegas
Author: vkmast
Replies: 4

Edit video in Photoshop
Forum: Water Cooler
Author: sidd finch
Replies: 5


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron