They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Burning copy of a PE7 DL DVD

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 7.

Burning copy of a PE7 DL DVD

Postby arrep » Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:12 pm

I am new to PE7. I burned a DL DVD using PE7 but now want to burn a copy of the DVD. I have two computers, a Toshiba laptop (low powerDuo 2300 and 3GBs ram) with Roxio 2010 pro and Dell XPS desktop (quad 9300 core-4GBs ram) with Roxio 2011 PRO. When I try and copy the DVD I get an error message that my computer no long has free space for the copy when the laptop has 70GBs and the desktop has 400GBs. Roxio advised uninstalling and reinstalling software which I did. Any advice. Thanks, Leo
arrep
New User
New User

Re: Burning copy of a PE7 DL DVD

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:36 pm

Welcome to Muvipix, Arre!

As we say in our books, the smartest way to make multiple copies of a DVD is to select the option to Burn your DVD to a Folder on your hard drive rather than directly to a disc. That way, whenever you need a copy, you can just burn the files to a disc.

For making a copy from an existing disc, use Explorer to browse you disc and copy the VIDEO_TS folder to your hard drive. Put it in a folder that's clearly marked so you can find it whenever you need it.

Then all you need to do is use Roxio or whatever burner software you use (We recommend the free download ImgBurn) to burn a DVD with that VIDEO_TS folder. (Some burner software, like Nero, also requires that you indicate that it's a playable disc and not a data disc.)

If your computer says you don't have enough room, it probably means that your hard drive is fragmented and possibly full of tmp or other junk files.

Run the free software Advanced System Care to clear off the junk.
http://www.iobit.com/advancedsystemcareper.html