They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

can't burn dvd

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 7.

can't burn dvd

Postby ridon127 » Sun Oct 27, 2013 1:43 am

When I try to burn a dvd it will encode the files and when it starts to burn to disc, a message says disc capacity is too small. hit ok of you would like to continue with record. there is no ok button. the video is about 3hrs long but I have a dual layer dvd with a capacity of 240 mins. I need 7.95 gb and the disc is 8.5 gigs. I burned it to a folder and had no problems burning the first one. now when I go to the folder it shows the icon but when I open it, the folder is empty. I have tried burning it directly from pre and from Lenovo power to go..am I the only one here who has constant problems?
Go out and make it a great day. The choice is yours!
Donna
User avatar
ridon127
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:28 pm
Location: Deer Park, Tx

Re: can't burn dvd

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:15 am

Actually, a dual-layer DVD can only hold about 140 minutes at full quality, Donna. So you're asking the program to do a lot of compression. Maybe more than the program is willing to do.

Although you say that you were able to Burn your DVD files to a Folder? Or not? I can't tell. You say you "had no problems burning the first one. now when I go to the folder it shows the icon but when I open it, the folder is empty."
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12725
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: can't burn dvd

Postby ridon127 » Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:11 pm

Steve I am extremely frustrated so I am probably making no sense what so ever. OK. I burned my files to a folder and burned one dvd from that.. no problem. so now when I try to burn more dvd's it says no files found in search or something to that effect. so I transferred the folder to my external hd to use my laptop to burn them. files burned with no problem except when I opened them up to play the dvd, they were the individual video-_ts files, no dvd.. ugh!!!! I promised I would have this freakin thing out tomorrow.. can you just come over????
Go out and make it a great day. The choice is yours!
Donna
User avatar
ridon127
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:28 pm
Location: Deer Park, Tx

Re: can't burn dvd

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:27 pm

Sounds like you've chosen an option to burn a data DVD not a DVD Movie ...
I don't do the burn to folder option so it is not familiar to me, maybe that is how you do it.
Are you using IMGBurn?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17513
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: can't burn dvd

Postby ridon127 » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:56 pm

I am using cyberlink power 2 go.. now it is freezing up. I don't usually burn from a folder but nothing else is working. I have got to get this figured out asap. any suggestions at this point is more than welcome..i have chosen to burn photo music dvd option.
Go out and make it a great day. The choice is yours!
Donna
User avatar
ridon127
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:28 pm
Location: Deer Park, Tx

Re: can't burn dvd

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:57 pm

Donna, Have you exported the video to a folder using Premiere Elements?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17513
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: can't burn dvd

Postby ridon127 » Sun Oct 27, 2013 5:24 pm

no I didn't think of that.. I will give it shot and see what happens.. sorry I am such a pain but I can't think straight these days..
Go out and make it a great day. The choice is yours!
Donna
User avatar
ridon127
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:28 pm
Location: Deer Park, Tx

Re: can't burn dvd

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Oct 27, 2013 5:25 pm

I don't want to fray this topic by trying to handle too much at once, but you wrote " files burned with no problem except when I opened them up to play the dvd, they were the individual video-_ts files, no dvd.. ugh!!!!"

To play a DVD from the files on your computer, you must select the player's option to open a Folder and then select the VIDEO_TS folder. Don't play the individual files.

I recommend VLC Player. It's got the option to play a folder built right into its menu.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12725
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 7 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests