They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

putting clips on tracks

Premiere Pro discussions.

putting clips on tracks

Postby Matthew Max » Tue May 17, 2011 8:26 pm

Hey, helpers, I'm studying the latest Pro version and I have not yet seen how to get around the way the clips split across tracks when I compose a video. What am I missing? This has to be the simplest thing in the world. I want the video and audio to stay together on whatever track I try to put them on.
Matthew Max
Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Re: putting clips on tracks

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Wed May 18, 2011 2:42 am

PPro doesn't work like PrEl in that respect.

Generally speaking, in PPro you will have video1 on video track 1; audio1 on audio track 1, video 2 on track 2, audio 2 on audio track 2....etc.
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win11 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
John 'twosheds' McDonald

Postby Bob » Wed May 18, 2011 4:35 am

Premiere Elements 3 had the same video/audio tracks convention as Premiere Pro. Adobe changed Premiere Elements to group the corresponding audio and video tracks together beginning with PrE 4. Pro didn't change. You can't change this. The thing to remember is that the audio remains linked to the corresponding video clip.
Bob

Postby Matthew Max » Wed May 18, 2011 5:20 am