They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2022
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 20
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Buying a new version of Pro

Premiere Pro discussions.

Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Matthew Max » Thu Aug 05, 2021 8:09 pm

I'm finally getting a new computer. I've been running CS5.5. Which version do i get now? I work offline, so i won't use an Adobe subscription.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Matthew Max
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:11 pm
Location: could be anywhere at any time

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Fri Aug 06, 2021 1:36 am

The last "stand alone" version was CS6.
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win11 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4092
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Peru » Fri Aug 06, 2021 9:32 am

CS6 is no longer available for purchase from Adobe and is not supported.

Don't trust those on sale at eBay and even Amazon, as Adobe is more closely following pirated copies and illegally sold volume licenses. They may work for a while and then you get this:
https://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/glo ... mbers.html

I moved from CS5.5 to Creative Cloud and am very happy with it. Many new features were added after CS5.5 and more are being added.

If you don't need the features of Pro, Premiere Elements might be the choice for you if you don't want a subscription.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3523
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Matthew Max » Fri Aug 06, 2021 9:34 am

Thanks, but i don't want Cloud and I need the capabilities of Pro. Premiere is totally out of the question.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Matthew Max
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:11 pm
Location: could be anywhere at any time

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby sidd finch » Fri Aug 06, 2021 11:16 am

You might consider switching to DaVinci. The editor is very robust and best of all the free version is a very powerful tool. The down side is that with all software packages there is a learning curve. The DaVinci program does allow the user to mimic layouts of other editing programs like premiere Pro.

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5732
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Matthew Max » Fri Aug 06, 2021 11:27 am

Uhhhhh... gracias, Sidd. But I'm not looking for free stuff. I work for clients who expect the same high quality I've always given. Not fancy, just exactly what they need. Precision requires software that lets me do anything i need to do. CS.5.5 is pretty good that way.

You're right about the learning curve. I don't feel i have time for that.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Matthew Max
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:11 pm
Location: could be anywhere at any time

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Fri Aug 06, 2021 11:37 am

Looks like your best option is to stick with 5.5.
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win11 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4092
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Matthew Max » Fri Aug 06, 2021 11:40 am

That's the way friends talk -- they tell you what you wanna hear. Haaaaa. I think I'll eventually do what Sidd said, though. But later.

Gracias, amigo Two Sheds. I'll ghost my drives and move forward.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Matthew Max
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:11 pm
Location: could be anywhere at any time

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Matthew Max » Fri Aug 06, 2021 11:41 am

I just love being a muvipix member.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Matthew Max
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:11 pm
Location: could be anywhere at any time

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby sidd finch » Fri Aug 06, 2021 12:23 pm

Gotta do what you gotta do, but I think you will be surprised at how full featured the "free" version really is.

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5732
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Aug 06, 2021 8:03 pm

Matthew, what is it that you can do in Premiere Pro that you are not able to do in Premiere Elements? I have been editing for many years and with the exception of a very few projects I have always been able to do a remarkably good video using the Elements version. That includes multi-camera editing with as many as 3 cameras and a completely separate audio track.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18042
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Matthew Max » Fri Aug 06, 2021 8:06 pm

I kept upgrading Premiere until i got tired of various shortcomings that i can't remember at the moment. After i switched to Pro, i almost melted into tears of hysterical joy, if i may exaggerate.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Matthew Max
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:11 pm
Location: could be anywhere at any time

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Matthew Max » Sat Aug 07, 2021 6:39 pm

I meant I kept upgrading ELEMENTS and finally switched to Pro.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Matthew Max
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:11 pm
Location: could be anywhere at any time

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Aug 08, 2021 11:53 am

Is there a reason you feel you need to upgrade? If there is nothing wrong with the version you have why not just stick with what works for you? You can run the software on up to two computers. Don't forget to deactivate on the old computer before trying to activate on the new one if you are already using it on two devices.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18042
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Buying a new version of Pro

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Aug 08, 2021 11:54 am

I think that is pretty much with John said above :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18042
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Next

Return to Premiere Pro 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron