They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to Cyberlink PowerDirector 18
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Tv connection into my PC

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

Tv connection into my PC

Postby BuddyB » Sat Feb 29, 2020 3:34 pm

I was just given an Emerson Tv, model LC220EM1, and I want to run in into the computer so that I can play the Tv and it project the pic on my screen. The manual doesn't tell me much, and that my be my lack of knowlege. There are several ports showing and indicates you should be able to do that. I'm running the RCA yellow white and red out of the Tv through a Diamond Multimedia connecter into a USB connector of the computer and so far that doesn't work. I'm enclosing a pic I took of the back of the Tv showing a PC in RGB along with what looks like a logical connection. I'd like any opinion that thinks this might work, or not. Any thoughts appreciated; thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby Peru » Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:35 pm

Can you connect with HDMI?
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby sidd finch » Sat Feb 29, 2020 6:15 pm

Buddy Connect the HDMI port to your computer and it will work.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4738
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Feb 29, 2020 9:20 pm

HDMI will work if the PC has an HDMI connection. Then, not all HDMI connections are bi-directional, so playing the TV on your computer may or may not work. But maybe I am confused about what you are really trying to do Buddy. Are you trying to use the tv screen as a computer monitor or trying to play the TV on your computer?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17793
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby BuddyB » Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:26 pm

I will check that out thanks mucho. Will let you know Chuck. Yes, I want to be able to play some stuff and record some stuff; news mainly.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Sun Mar 01, 2020 12:43 am

Chromecast might be another alternative to consider.

https://store.google.com/gb/product/chr ... lsrc=aw.ds
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12 cores/24 threads, Aorus x570 mobo, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Samsung 500GB NVME 970 Evo SSD, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Dell U2717D Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3956
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby Chris B » Sun Mar 01, 2020 2:54 am

I would think it very unlikely that the TV will output video on any of it's ports. They will all be for getting pictures into the TV not out of.

Some TVs allow you to record to USB stick but that would probably only be pictures that the TV receives and decodes directly (i.e. nothing that comes from one of the TVs inputs).
Intel Core i7 8700 - 32GB DDR4 - 500GB Evo 970 SSD - 3+2 TB HDD - GTX 1080- MSI Z370 Pro - Win10 64 bit - Cannon HV30 (PAL) - Sony A6000 - GoPro 3 Black
User avatar
Chris B
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Sun Mar 01, 2020 3:05 am

John 'twosheds' McDonald wrote:Chromecast might be another alternative to consider.

https://store.google.com/gb/product/chr ... lsrc=aw.ds


Seems that I didn't read Buddy's posting correctly. :oops:
I thought he was going from the PC to the TV in which case Chromecast would be a consideration.
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12 cores/24 threads, Aorus x570 mobo, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Samsung 500GB NVME 970 Evo SSD, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Dell U2717D Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3956
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Mar 01, 2020 9:38 am

I have done this in the past but it required a TV Tuner card/interface for the computer. Sorry to say there is no way to connect a tv to pc for this purpose. Tuner cards come in a large variety, digital hd and 4k, with software to capture video in mp4 format. You can even schedule recordings of specific shows using a tv guide type interface. I have not done this for quite some time so not sure what works best these days, they did not have the USB types when I was doing this.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17793
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Mar 01, 2020 9:45 am

This is a pretty good article and it is current
https://www.lifewire.com/hd-content-into-pc-1130837
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17793
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby BuddyB » Sun Mar 01, 2020 10:13 am

John Chromecast appears to be strictly a streamer from a device to the Tv, yer right. The Tv on the back shows the port description and what it does. It would appear that there is definitely the ability for PC in. Hopefully the HDMI will work. Will have to get an HDMI to USB/RCAvideo converter to be sure. Thanks all for your input. Chuck will try the HDMI if I can find connection converter and let'cha' know. However, it does say "HDMI In."
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Mar 01, 2020 10:22 am

That will let the TV act as a computer monitor, the signal will only go in one direction Buddy, out from the computer and in to the TV.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17793
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby BuddyB » Sun Mar 01, 2020 10:43 am

Do you see anything that might work? OR do I need to get another Tv? :pull:
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Mar 01, 2020 10:51 am

If you want to record the TV on your computer you need a TV tuner card or adapter. See my previous post :)

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17793
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Tv connection into my PC

Postby BuddyB » Sun Mar 01, 2020 11:17 am

Ahso, sorry 'bout that..makes me feel like a simpleton; especially after going to eBay. :eek:
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Next

Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests