They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

RAM issue

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

RAM issue

Postby BuddyB » Sun Nov 17, 2019 2:30 pm

I have an ASUS M4A88t-M motherboard. Right now I have 8gigs working, two sets of 4X. I bought matching RAM. In other words attempting 4X4=16. Well that ain't working! The new RAM exactly matches, but when I add the new sticks to the second set of slots the PC wouldn't boot. Well, both of the two sets of four work fine in the left two slots, and I've tried several configurations, say one stick in matching slots on both sides, matching one on left and one on right. I come up with 4gigs of RAM. All four sticks work fine on the left two slots. I've looked through the manual and didn't come up with an answer. I'm thinking there's something that needs to be changed on the board or in the system that will enable the right two slots, but at the moment I haven't a clue. All thoughts, as usual, appreciated. :ha:
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: RAM issue

Postby Peru » Sun Nov 17, 2019 2:59 pm

Exactly what are the models and specs of each of the sticks of RAM?
According to the mobo manual, some models of RAM will only be supported in two slots.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3352
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: RAM issue

Postby BuddyB » Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:37 pm

All four of the sticks are DDR3-1600 4G/256X8. I hope this will give you a clue. I've heard something along the line of what you said, but I didn't see any thing when I looked through the manual. Maybe I missed something.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: RAM issue

Postby Peru » Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:51 pm

What is the brand and part number of both sets of RAM?
Is the cpu overclocked?
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3352
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: RAM issue

Postby BuddyB » Sun Nov 17, 2019 10:41 pm

CPU is not overclocked. I figgered' I'd burn up the computer
New RAM: A-TECH 4Gb DDR3-PC3-12800 DIMM/1600MHz 652/AA5514L/4445
Old RAM: Micron CL9 DDR3-1600 4G/256X8 W1600UB4GM Under the sash: USM120306001
Both sticks work fine on the left two slots.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: RAM issue

Postby Peru » Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:15 pm

I've had that problem when the RAM sticks are different brands.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3352
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: RAM issue

Postby BuddyB » Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:22 pm

That figures. However, both sets, individually, work fine in the left two slots, but neither work in the right two slots. That's what is baffling.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: RAM issue

Postby Peru » Tue Nov 19, 2019 4:45 pm

BuddyB wrote:both sets, individually, work fine in the left two slots, but neither work in the right two slots.


According to the mobo manual, not all RAM brands are supported in all slots.
https://www.asus.com/me-en/Motherboards ... sk_Manual/
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3352
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: RAM issue

Postby BuddyB » Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:15 pm

Gotcha, could be; will do some more checking. Thank you much for your help.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: RAM issue

Postby Chris B » Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:29 am

Couple 0of thoughts here - but these are BIOS related suggestions which can render a machine unbootable. YMMV. I'd suggest putting in just the 2 sticks then making the change checking things still work then add the other 2.

  • A BIOS update might help - these often improve memory compatibility although I don't see that explicitly noted in the release notes.
  • You could check that the DRAM timings are all set as Auto.
  • You could try and set the DRAM frequency to less than 1600 - Try 1333. If the timings are marginal this may allow the system to boot.

Failing that it might be you need different RAM. Given that processor model is now something like 9 years old will the RAM actually make that much of a difference to day to day operation?
Intel Core i7 8700 - 32GB DDR4 - 500GB Evo 970 SSD - 3+2 TB HDD - GTX 1080- MSI Z370 Pro - Win10 64 bit - Cannon HV30 (PAL) - Sony A6000 - GoPro 3 Black
User avatar
Chris B
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 777
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: RAM issue

Postby BuddyB » Thu Nov 21, 2019 12:25 pm

Wow! I will check that out and let y'all know. Thanks Chris.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: RAM issue

Postby Bob » Fri Nov 22, 2019 4:10 pm

I thought I had replied to this thread earlier, but I don't see it. Anyway, most motherboards, including that one, divide memory up into two channels. If you number the slots from left to right, one channel uses slots 1 and 3, the other uses slots 2 and 4. The ram in a channel needs to match. So, normally, you would place your memory in alternating slots: new, old, new, old. This places the new memory in one channel and the old memory in the other. When you had only two ram sticks, putting them side by side in adjacent slots meant that they were used as single channel memory. That works, but it's not as fast as placing both sticks in the same channel. when you use all 4 slots, you need to put them in the appropriate channel as matching pairs.

One thing you might want to do is place all the ram in the slots in the order I mentioned above and then boot into the system bios (press the del key to enter the bios setup while booting). When you get into the bios, there is probably a selection for system info. That should list the memory that was detected by the bios. This would be a good way to see if it is recognizing the memory in all the slots. If all are recognized, don't change any bios settings, but exit and save. It might just need to save the new memory configuration. It should continue on to booting into the OS afterwards. Hopefully, the OS will boot.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5874
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: RAM issue

Postby BuddyB » Fri Nov 22, 2019 10:46 pm

One more time..great possibilities. Will give that a shot and see. Thanks Bob.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: RAM issue

Postby Chris B » Sat Nov 23, 2019 4:07 am

Regarding channels/slots - the motherboard manual says that the channels are in adjacent slots - so you should use the blue slots then the black slots.
MB Manual.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Intel Core i7 8700 - 32GB DDR4 - 500GB Evo 970 SSD - 3+2 TB HDD - GTX 1080- MSI Z370 Pro - Win10 64 bit - Cannon HV30 (PAL) - Sony A6000 - GoPro 3 Black
User avatar
Chris B
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 777
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: RAM issue

Postby BuddyB » Sat Nov 23, 2019 10:28 am

Chris, that is a perfect pic of my motherboard. I have tried every configuration imaginable but nada. When i put sticks in the right set of two the computer will turn on and run, but hitting the delete button nor anything does not allow anything to happen. Thanks for the input.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Next

Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron