They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

A simple question..

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

A simple question..

Postby BuddyB » Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:24 am

..from a simple guy. You can tell by my sig I think, would adding another 8 megs of RAM really increase the productivity that much? There are four slots and I'm using two. It seems that in years past you could not use the same type RAM in the other slots and could only use two at a time. I can't tell by anything I'm reading.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: A simple question..

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:26 am

Hi Buddy, You might not notice a lot of difference with Premiere Elements but you will notice an overall faster machine. Your motherboard specs show that you can have a total of 16GB of RAM, I would max it out. The RAM that the specs call for is different from your signature, any idea why that is?

4 x DIMM, Max. 16GB, DDR3 1866(O.C.)/1333/1066 Hz ECC, Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory
Dual Channel Memory Architecture

What will make a bigger difference in video processing is the right graphics card, along with the system RAM. Adding 16GB of RAM should cost you less than $50, a better graphics card (don't see one in your specs so not sure what you have now) could easily cost $200 or more.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17529
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: A simple question..

Postby BuddyB » Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:40 pm

The RAM came with the machines; will check that out. The only thing I can think of is the company either didn't have any, or it wasn't important to them. Thanks Chuck.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm


Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron