They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Blue Ray burner

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

Blue Ray burner

Postby hpharley90 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:40 pm

Hello all,
I've got a Dell XPS 400 PC.
I want to start burning AVCHD discs and I think I need a Blue Ray burner to do it.
I want to burn to DVD. I think I read that I can get about 15 min. on a DVD. Perfect.

I need help on picking a Blue Ray burner that will work with my computer.
The picture is what the wires look like that connect my drives as the picture shows..
CD DVD.jpg

My Hard Discs are SATA but I don't know what my present hardware (DVD-RW drive) is called.
So I don't know what to buy.
I was ready to buy this one http://astore.amazon.com/chuckengelsco- ... B004LPLE50 but I don't know if it would work in my computer.
Thank you for all help. :-D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Thanks
Richard

Dell XPS 400 dual core, 2.8GHz,4GB RAM,XP Pro,ATI Radeon X300, 2-500GB Raid 0 SATA HDD internal, 500GB SATA HDD internal, 600GB SATA HDD internal, 500GB USB HDD external,Canon HV40,Premiere Elements10,PhotoshopCS3
User avatar
hpharley90
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:11 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Blue Ray burner

Postby Peru » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:50 pm

Your picture shows an IDE connection for the burner, but your specs say you have 4 SATA connection on the Mobo (just below the IDE in your illustration):

http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/s ... /specs.htm
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Blue Ray burner

Postby hpharley90 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:52 pm

Peru wrote:but your specs say you have 4 SATA connection on the Mobo


Yes I have all my HDD plugged into mother board.

Peru wrote:Your picture shows an IDE connection for the burner

Thank you. I forgot terminology.
Now I will see if I can get an IDE. Blue Ray burner. :-D
Thanks
Richard

Dell XPS 400 dual core, 2.8GHz,4GB RAM,XP Pro,ATI Radeon X300, 2-500GB Raid 0 SATA HDD internal, 500GB SATA HDD internal, 600GB SATA HDD internal, 500GB USB HDD external,Canon HV40,Premiere Elements10,PhotoshopCS3
User avatar
hpharley90
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:11 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Blue Ray burner

Postby Bob » Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:45 pm

Richard,

You don't need a Blu-Ray burner to create an AVCHD disc. You can create an AVCHD disc using a standard DVD burner and standard DVD blank discs. You can play it back on your PC. If you want to play it on a HDTV, you will need a Blu-ray player for the TV. You'll also need software capable of authoring the AVCHD disc, do you have any?

If you do want to add a Blu-ray burner so you can burn actual Blu-ray discs, you can do that. Your computer has 4 SATA connections on the motherboard. If you have at least one available, you can get a SATA burner and plug it into any of the available SATA connections. You don't need to get an IDE burner.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5769
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Blue Ray burner

Postby TreeTopsRanch » Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:01 pm

Bob is correct. I have a guide to create an AVCHD disc using a standard DVD burner and standard DVD blank discs if you are interested. Don't forget, you will need a Blu-ray player for the HD TV.
User avatar
TreeTopsRanch
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: Blue Ray burner

Postby hpharley90 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:31 pm

Bob wrote:Richard,

You don't need a Blu-Ray burner to create an AVCHD disc. You can create an AVCHD disc using a standard DVD burner and standard DVD blank discs. You can play it back on your PC. If you want to play it on a HDTV, you will need a Blu-ray player for the TV. You'll also need software capable of authoring the AVCHD disc, do you have any?


I am glad to see that I can use my standard DVD burner. \:D/
I just bought a Blu-ray player for TV.
I'm using Premiere Elements 10.

Bob wrote: Your computer has 4 SATA connections on the motherboard. If you have at least one available, you can get a SATA burner and plug it into any of the available SATA connections. You don't need to get an IDE burner.

I actually have all 4 of them connected to hard drives as in my signature. I have no plans right now to burn Blu-ray discs.
Thanks so much Bob.

I'm ready then. I just have to take my new player out of the box and hook it up.
I'll be burning something tonight to try it.Cool. :-D

Thanks TreeTopRanch.
Thanks
Richard

Dell XPS 400 dual core, 2.8GHz,4GB RAM,XP Pro,ATI Radeon X300, 2-500GB Raid 0 SATA HDD internal, 500GB SATA HDD internal, 600GB SATA HDD internal, 500GB USB HDD external,Canon HV40,Premiere Elements10,PhotoshopCS3
User avatar
hpharley90
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:11 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Blue Ray burner

Postby cmarch2106116 » Fri May 23, 2014 12:18 pm

All of the posts here seem to be quite dated. I am looking for a good external Blu Ray burner. Noticed a Asus USB 3.0 on Amazon, any advice would be appreciated.
cmarch2106116
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:32 pm


Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron