They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:00 pm

I have used Acronis True Image successfully for a few years now and have had very good results.
With Windows 7 64 bit Acronis has some major issues that I just can't work around, and frankly don't have the time for.
Their customer support is terrible these days and I need a solution now.

I have looked at a few other solutions and nothing seems to do what Acronis could do in Windows XP, that is to clone a drive so you had an exact copy on a separate hard drive. If the drive installed in my computer crashed all I had to do was remove the bad drive and install the clone, back up and running in minutes.

Software like Paragon and NovaBackup are great backup tools but require you to install a separate drive and then restore the image to the drive, taking hours to accomplish.

Is there anything that will create an exact duplicate of my drive as well as do incremental backups in between clonings that really works as good as Acronis did?

Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions :tx:
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17649
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Peru » Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:27 pm

I thought I cloned my W7 64 bit boot drive with Paragon. I'll have to check which version of Paragon I used when I am at that computer.

You could, if you had to, just make the image and restore to an empty new drive to make your clone.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:40 pm

Thanks Peru, Paragon Tech Support told me that their software does not create a bootable drive, just the drive image. It takes hours to restore the image to a hard drive and It cannot be restored to an external drive. You must first intall a new drive, then install Windows 7 and the Paragon software as well, then you can use the software to overwrite the drive with the disc image, at least that's the way I understand what they told me. That is way too much work and I need to be up and running in minutes, not hours or days.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17649
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:56 pm

This looks promising, has good reviews and it's free...
http://www.todo-backup.com/products/hom ... ftware.htm

Todo Backup FAQ wrote:Q: Can I backup the whole disk?

A: Yes. EaseUS Todo Backup can backup the whole disk as an image file or clone the disk to another hard drive.


Anyone familiar with this software?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17649
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Peru » Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:35 pm

Chuck Engels wrote:Thanks Peru, Paragon Tech Support told me that their software does not create a bootable drive, just the drive image. It takes hours to restore the image to a hard drive and It cannot be restored to an external drive. You must first intall a new drive, then install Windows 7 and the Paragon software as well, then you can use the software to overwrite the drive with the disc image, at least that's the way I understand what they told me. That is way too much work and I need to be up and running in minutes, not hours or days.


:shock: :no:
I have Paragon Backup & Recovery 10 Suite.

It does, in fact have the ability to clone a drive. It's called "Copy Hard Disk" which I have successfully used and tested for my editing rig running W7 Pro 64 bit.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:08 pm

I don't know why they told me it wouldn't, cost them a sale.
Guess the tech support guy didn't know what he was talking about.
I sent them a comment when I uninstalled and told them why, they haven't gotten back to me to say anything different.
The product I was trying out was Paragon Drive Backup 10 Workstation.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17649
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:32 am

I'm in the same position as Chuck so following this thread with interest. :-D
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, Samsung 500GB NVME 970 Evo SSD x 2, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Samsung Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby George Tyndall » Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:47 am

Peru wrote:
I have Paragon Backup & Recovery 10 Suite.

It does, in fact have the ability to clone a drive. It's called "Copy Hard Disk" which I have successfully used and tested for my editing rig running W7 Pro 64 bit.


Peru, when you have time, please describe in more detail the procedure for cloning your C drive and then, in the event of a failure of the C drive, using the clone to boot your machine.

Are you cloning onto a drive that is designed for internal use but that you have temporarily placed into an external case? Or, are you cloning onto a second internal drive that you can choose to boot from when necessary?

:tx:
HP h8-1360t Win7 Home Premium 64-bit/Intel i7-3770@3.40GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050/LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray RW+SD DVD/CD RW+LightScribe/52" Samsung LCD HDTV (ancient 1080p)/PRE & PSE & ORGANIZER 2018/CS 5.1 & 5.5 (rare use) ::wav::
User avatar
George Tyndall
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Peru » Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:58 am

George Tyndall wrote:
Peru, when you have time, please describe in more detail the procedure for cloning your C drive and then, in the event of a failure of the C drive, using the clone to boot your machine.

I am at work now and the W7 machine is home. I'll look at it when I go home. As I recall, I think I just clicked on "Backup" and there was a tab to "Copy Hard Disk". I used the procedure described in the answer to the second question later in this post.

If I need to use the clone, all I have to do is power down the computer and physically swap the boot drives.

I only cloned the C drive. I run two drives in raid 0 for my media and project files, two in raid 0 for media cache and page file, one drive for exports, and one drive for backups. I only keep media for the project on which I am currently working on in this computer.

I have the media also stored on an external hard drive and an off site (my business) external backup drive (Actually, I have two backup externals which I rotate, so that there is always a backup drive off site), so if my media raid fails, all I need to do is set up a new raid 0 and reload the media from one of the backups, and the project files from the internal backup. I occasionally copy the project files to a DVD+RW for an off site backup during editing and place the final project file on my external media drives.


Are you cloning onto a drive that is designed for internal use but that you have temporarily placed into an external case?
No. I did get one of those devices that connects via USB to which you can connect either a SATA or IDE drive (It also has a power supply for the connected drive so that it doesn't need USB power.), but have not had time yet to see if it will work.

Or, are you cloning onto a second internal drive that you can choose to boot from when necessary?
I temporarily connected a new drive internally and cloned to it. Then I removed it to store it in my archives.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby George Tyndall » Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:54 pm

Peru wrote:I temporarily connected a new drive internally and cloned to it. Then I removed it to store it in my archives.


Different but related question: Once you've created that clone, can you install it in any similar machine, or will it function only with the specific machine that you used to create the clone?

Also, once manufacturers begin, in the future, to ship machines with Win8 pre-installed, would it be possible to replace the new machine's C drive with the cloned HDD that you made with Win7 64-bit and still see everything running well?
HP h8-1360t Win7 Home Premium 64-bit/Intel i7-3770@3.40GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050/LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray RW+SD DVD/CD RW+LightScribe/52" Samsung LCD HDTV (ancient 1080p)/PRE & PSE & ORGANIZER 2018/CS 5.1 & 5.5 (rare use) ::wav::
User avatar
George Tyndall
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Gerlinde » Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:05 pm

Why not use Win 7 for your purpose? It does everything you need. You can make a system image and incremental backups. I have used it successfully as I replaced the hard drive of my notebook with a bigger one. Here is a guide on how to do it.
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby George Tyndall » Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:23 pm

gpecht wrote:Why not use Win 7 for your purpose? It does everything you need. You can make a system image and incremental backups. I have used it successfully as I replaced the hard drive of my notebook with a bigger one. Here is a guide on how to do it.


I seem to recall Bob writing that Win7 is "painfully slow" for that purpose. Was that also your experience?
HP h8-1360t Win7 Home Premium 64-bit/Intel i7-3770@3.40GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050/LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray RW+SD DVD/CD RW+LightScribe/52" Samsung LCD HDTV (ancient 1080p)/PRE & PSE & ORGANIZER 2018/CS 5.1 & 5.5 (rare use) ::wav::
User avatar
George Tyndall
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Peru » Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:38 pm

George Tyndall wrote:
Different but related question: Once you've created that clone, can you install it in any similar machine, or will it function only with the specific machine that you used to create the clone?

It will only boot in a machine of identical hardware. You can connect it to another machine to open the files.

Also, once manufacturers begin, in the future, to ship machines with Win8 pre-installed, would it be possible to replace the new machine's C drive with the cloned HDD that you made with Win7 64-bit and still see everything running well?
See the above answer.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Oct 25, 2011 5:01 pm

I started using Win 7 but I really need to be able to create an exact duplicate of my drive to another drive. That way if the drive crashes I only have to replace one drive with the other. I can't find a way for Win 7 to do that.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17649
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Backup - Drive Image - Cloning

Postby Gerlinde » Tue Oct 25, 2011 7:54 pm

Chuck, did you see my post? Here is the link again: http://www.pagestart.com/win7bckuprstrnhd072610.html
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Next

Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests