They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2021
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 19
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Adobe Media Encoder CS6

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

Adobe Media Encoder CS6

Postby CarolG » Thu Dec 03, 2020 12:21 pm

This is a recent event. I keep getting the message that the Adobe Media Encoder CS6 is not working. I know this forum is NOT an Adobe forum, but I've been there and did not find anything helpful....rather over my head. I'm thinking this particular bit of knowledge is beyond my ability to understand. Does anyone have a simple explanation of what this is about? Is this related to Adobe Flash going away? Does this affect my Photoshop Elements 12 or Premiere Elements 12 operation? I have found some 'fixes' on YouTube (linked from Google searches)....one of them shows a pathway that does not exist on my computer, and another one wants to do some stuff for which I am not comfortable. I am running Win7Pro on 64bit Lenovo computer. Thanks.
CarolG
New User
New User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:43 am

Re: Adobe Media Encoder CS6

Postby sidd finch » Thu Dec 03, 2020 1:20 pm

This is what I found.

Which would be ... download the Adobe CC Cleaner Tool here:

https://helpx.adobe.com/creative-suite/ ... blems.html

Now, using that app, uninstall & "clean" out AME, then reboot the computer. Using the CC Desktop app, download/install a fresh copy of AME.

Sometimes the apps lose track of each other due to corruption or something, and this might be the fix. If you've just used the OS uninstall process, that doesn't count as that does NOT get to the files that could be causing your situation.


Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5255
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Adobe Media Encoder CS6

Postby Peru » Thu Dec 03, 2020 2:22 pm

sidd finch wrote:Using the CC Desktop app, download/install a fresh copy of AME.

You can't download AME CS6 or any CS6 application from the CC Desktop App.

You need to reinstall from the original download file or disc.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3467
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Adobe Media Encoder CS6

Postby Peru » Thu Dec 03, 2020 2:28 pm

CarolG wrote: Is this related to Adobe Flash going away? Does this affect my Photoshop Elements 12 or Premiere Elements 12 operation?

No.

What are the complete computer specs, including hard drives (how many, what kind, what is on each, and how full)?

If you have an NVIDIA graphics card, you may need to update or roll back the video driver directly from the video card manufacturer’s site.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3467
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Adobe Media Encoder CS6

Postby VernonRobinson » Thu Dec 10, 2020 8:52 am

They are obviously not making a lot of improvements to this software, but I did see an update for it on the Creative Cloud taking the version number up to 14.7. So some bugfixes are still being done.

What version of the software are you currently running?

Regards,
-Vernon
VernonRobinson
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 6:03 am

Re: Adobe Media Encoder CS6

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:00 am

Peru wrote:You need to reinstall from the original download file or disc.

Are the authentication servers for CS6 still available?
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), LG BD Burner, Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4021
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Adobe Media Encoder CS6

Postby Peru » Fri Dec 11, 2020 11:47 am

The CS6 servers are still available.
Only the CS, CS2, and CS3 servers have been deactivated.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3467
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA


Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests