They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

For our MAC users, questions about the various Video Editing software products.

Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

Postby ldsphilosopher » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:26 pm

Hey! I'm trying to connect an older digital camera to my Macbook using the Pyro A/V Link API-550, and I am using Adobe OnLocation. OnLocation detects a signal from the Pyro A/V Link (as evidenced by the warning "signal lost" when I disconnect it), but it doesn't detect any video feed. Any suggestions?
ldsphilosopher
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:19 pm

Re: Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:33 pm

Have you confirmed that the Pyro has a live connection with your computer? For instance, have you successfully used it for anything else, like capturing video?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12782
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

Postby ldsphilosopher » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:35 pm

What other software should I test it with? Premiere and iMovie don't detect Pyro at all. How do I make sure that it has a live connection?
ldsphilosopher
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:19 pm

Re: Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

Postby ldsphilosopher » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:43 pm

At least, I'm not sure how to get Premiere to detect Pyro. I kind of inherited the device... without any accompanying software or documentation.
ldsphilosopher
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:19 pm

Re: Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:52 pm

Verify the REV version for the Pyro and then check that the dip switches are set correctly for a MAC.

Here are the settings for the 557 and the 550 REV-E
http://www.adstech.com/products/API-557 ... itches.pdf
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17530
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

Postby ldsphilosopher » Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:16 pm

I've verified, and the switches are, indeed, correct. Any other suggestions?
ldsphilosopher
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:19 pm

Re: Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:16 pm

Standard troubleshooting for the Pyro Link include; Changing Firewire Cables, Connect to another computer, use a different camcorder connected to the Pyro. What type of camcorder are you using and how is it connected to the Pyro. Make sure the Red light is on (analog), and not the blue light. You can switch the light by pressing the 'Mode' button.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17530
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

Postby ldsphilosopher » Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:48 pm

I'm using a Samsung SCW71 8mm Camcorder labeled as having PAL AV Signal Output. I'm plugging it into the Pyro using an A/V connector/adapter (the end that plugs into the camera looks like a headphone jack, and the other end looks like a normal A/V connector, which I've plugged into the front of the Pyro).
ldsphilosopher
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:19 pm

Re: Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Oct 08, 2009 8:37 pm

The A/V connectors don't always match up with RCA audio and video jacks.
You may need a different connector but it is hard to say for sure.
I have 3 different kinds of similar jacks, they all work with different devices.
If I connect them to the wrong device they won't work.
One is for an old VHS C camcorder, one for my iPod and another one for a portable DVD player.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17530
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Adobe OnLocation and Pyro A/V Link API-550

Postby momoffduty » Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:22 am

My settings in Pro with the Pyro: in the capture window, Device: DV/HDV Device Control and Options: ADS

And Chuck is correct about the mode set to Analog, the red light. I forget now and again and that is usually the problem.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7056
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis


Return to MAC 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests