They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

apple imovie exporting question

For our MAC users, questions about the various Video Editing software products.

apple imovie exporting question

Postby grekdare » Sun Oct 19, 2008 7:26 pm

HI there, and thanks in advance for even reading this.
I bought my daughter a new Apple Imovie, and she has produced and edited a political campaign commercial that needs to be at the TV studio tomorrow am. They need it on Minie DV, which is what she shot the spot on, and imported it on.
She is aving issues getting the finished product exported back onto a Mini DV tape.

Does anyone know what the correct procedure is for doinf that?

The instructions for the new imovie unit are not readily available.


Thanks


Craig
grekdare
New User
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 7:20 pm

Re: apple imovie exporting question

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:32 pm

Hi Craig,
Only a few Mac users here and most of them are Final Cut or Final Cut Express users.
Sorry to hear you are having trouble though.

Check out this link, it might be able to help you
http://www.wellesley.edu/Computing/Idoc ... Movie.html

Please check back and let us know what happens :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17538
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: apple imovie exporting question

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:43 am

Hi, Craig.

iMovie is usually pretty intuitive about these processes. And, if you were able to connect and capture from that camcorder, you should be able to port the video back into it. Can you tell us more about what exactly you're doing and what is or is not happening?

Meantime, two mitigating factors:

1) Some newer camcorders strangely aren't capable of recording! I don't know why camcorder manufacturers are disabling this feature, but this could be the case. Can you confirm that your cam is capable of receiving and recording video?

2) By the same token, some older camcorders in Europe and the UK were designed with the record feature intentionally disabled! It's a copyright issue, and I guess they wanted to make sure people weren't copying commercial videos or something. I think the law was eventually changed -- but it could be that this is the case, if you're in Europe or the UK.

In both these cases, it's a design 'feature' in the camcorder itself. So, before we troubleshoot iMovie, let's confirm your camcorder does indeed record over FireWire.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12808
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: apple imovie exporting question

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:06 am

Steve Grisetti wrote:
...By the same token, some older camcorders in Europe and the UK were designed with the record feature intentionally disabled! It's a copyright issue, and I guess they wanted to make sure people weren't copying commercial videos or something......


I think that it may still be the case that on some cameras this feature is disabled for exactly the reason that you mention, Steve, because where the feature is not disabled the camera carries a higher tax, which is a bit of a disincentive to camera manufacturers who wish their products to be price competitive.

Of course the extra tax collected is used to re-imburse copyright holders.... :???: (don't be so cynical, of course it is! Just like all of those green taxes that are collected are spent on the environment).
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, Akasa card reader, Samsung Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3830
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily


Return to MAC 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests