They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

24" iMac

For our MAC users, questions about the various Video Editing software products.

Re: 24" iMac

Postby Bob » Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:25 pm

Since Apple is rumoured to get rid of FW400 in their future Macs, does that mean our camcorder that uses FW400 cannot be connected to Apple ?


No, you'll just need a different cable.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5770
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: 24" iMac

Postby ryan_khoo » Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:24 pm

Now that Apple has announced a new graphics card in their Macbook:
http://www.apple.com/macbook/specs.html

Since my understanding of this new NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics processor with 256MB of DDR3 SDRAM shared with main memory3 is a built in grapghics card and not a dedicated graphics card, will the Macbook be sufficient if we are doing video editing like Final Cut ? Or must we pay more & get the McBook Pro which have a dedicated graphics card ?

Thanks
ryan_khoo
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:48 am

Re: 24" iMac

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:27 pm

I'm sure either will have plenty of power for this kind of work.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: 24" iMac

Postby ryan_khoo » Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:52 pm

Steve Grisetti wrote:I'm sure either will have plenty of power for this kind of work.

Thanks Steve for your confirmation. :)
ryan_khoo
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:48 am

Re: 24" iMac

Postby ryan_khoo » Thu Oct 16, 2008 7:46 am

i have a question regarding Final Cut. I Iook into this manual
http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/Ins ... ress_4.pdf

and at the end of Page 2, it says:

Note: This disc contains the files required to install Final Cut Express and LiveType on
either PowerPC-based or Intel-based Macintosh computers. The installation process is
identical for both.


So does this mean Final Cut can now run on Vista ?

Thanks
ryan_khoo
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:48 am

Re: 24" iMac

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:54 am

Final Cut only runs on a MAC Ryan, it maybe can run with PC emulation software but still only on a MAC.
So no, it can't run on Vista.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17559
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: 24" iMac

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:04 am

And, for the record, PowerPC is what Apple called its old Motorola-manufactured chips.

In the last few years, Apple has started using Intel chips.

That note is to let you know that the software will run on either -- though ONLY on MacIntoshes.

Capisce?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: 24" iMac

Postby ryan_khoo » Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:42 pm

Thanks Chuck & Steve,

So it looks like the only way to use Final Cut is to get the Mac ](*,)
ryan_khoo
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:48 am

Re: 24" iMac

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Oct 16, 2008 3:10 pm

Again, part of the key to Apple product stability is that the company controls the hardware, the operating system and a lot of the software -- so having to buy a Mac to run Final Cut may mean a big investment, but it's one with great rewards!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: 24" iMac

Postby ryan_khoo » Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:33 pm

Steve Grisetti wrote:so having to buy a Mac to run Final Cut may mean a big investment, but it's one with great rewards!

I have read the same thing a couple of times but can roughly explain why Final Cut on the Mac is so much better experience than Adobe on Vista/XP ?

If so, why can't other software companies produce software like Final Cut (or better) to run on Vista/XP ?

Thanks
ryan_khoo
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:48 am

Re: 24" iMac

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Oct 17, 2008 4:32 pm

I thought I'd covered that before, Ryan.

Apple controls both the hardware and operating system -- so they're only dealing with about half a dozen configurations. It's easy to make sure everything works. While Microsoft is chasing thousands of different configurations, outdated drivers and firmware, cheap hardware, etc.

In the case of Final Cut Pro and Express, Apple is also creating the software app, so there's no excuse for any bugs getting through beta testing!

Apple also puts look and feel of their programs at a premium. So, even when their programs don't perform all that much better, you feel good working in them!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: 24" iMac

Postby RJ Johnston » Sat Oct 18, 2008 1:36 pm

Manufacturers can have their software and hardware certified by Microsoft, but very few do.

I wonder, is Premiere Elements certified by Microsoft?
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3018
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: 24" iMac

Postby ryan_khoo » Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:23 pm

Can I check whether there are a lot of iMovie and Final Cut experts in Muvipix ?

Just in case if I purchase an iMac, I will definitely need help on iMovie and Final Cut.

Thanks
ryan_khoo
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:48 am

Re: 24" iMac

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:44 pm

Sorry Ryan, mostly PC users here.
There are a few however and looks like more MAC users are joining us on a regular basis now.

Dee Dee Warren started the MAC/Final Cut forum here at Muvipix but she has been extremely busy lately.
There are now a few other MAC users that have helped to fill the gap but we still are a little lacking in this area.
Hopefully things will change in the near future as more Muvipix members move to the Dark,...... I mean, Mac side :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17559
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: 24" iMac

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:23 pm

I don't know enough about it to comment -- but I do know Mac has never had a problem with dropping an old standard for a new, even if it means all their customers have to buy all new hardware or software.

Just ask anybody who had stuff on floppy disks when a new generation of Macs came out with no floppy drives.

Or all those folks who had to buy all new software when OSX came out because none of their OS9 software would work on it.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

PreviousNext

Return to MAC 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron