They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Can I reuse Sony miniDV Premium tapes?

MiniDV, DVD, Hard Drive, 8 mm, High Def, brands, import / capture techniques, settings ... talk about camcorders in here.

Can I reuse Sony miniDV Premium tapes?

Postby rudympohl » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:16 am

Hi There:

I just bought a very well taken care of Sony DSR PD150 whose orginal owner only used Sony miniDV Premium tapes in it. These tapes cost me $5-6 each here in Canada (in a 5-pak) and I need to practice shooting with the camera as I'm a total rookie. Can I reuse these tapes a few times for practice without risking damage to my camera?

Thanks,
Rudy
rudympohl
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Re: Can I reuse Sony miniDV Premium tapes?

Postby Bobby » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:38 am

Hi Rudy.

I don't think there is ever a risk in re-using tapes as far as the camera itself goes. There may be some minor loss of lubricant on the tape over time, but I can't see it being that significant.

On the other hand, I never re-use tapes. It's an archival thing mostly.

If you plan to re-use the tapes professionally or for serious work, you might consider getting a bulk tape eraser to make sure there is nothing recorded from the previous version.
Bobby (Bob Seidel)
Bobby
Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:56 am

I agree with Bobby, reusing tapes a time or two for testing purposes isn't going to cause any problems.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator

Postby tiny » Thu Dec 10, 2009 1:59 pm