They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

my brand new HV30 huge problems not recognized by Windows xp

MiniDV, DVD, Hard Drive, 8 mm, High Def, brands, import / capture techniques, settings ... talk about camcorders in here.

my brand new HV30 huge problems not recognized by Windows xp

Postby jian1 » Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:25 pm

Hi, this is my long story, and I will put as much details as I could.

I am a computer science grad student and just bought a brand new canon hv30 from Amazon USA and mailed it to friend resides in the states. I captured my trips in states with it on some Sony HDV tapes and they seemed perfect. but problem occurs when I returned to Canada (yes, I live in Toronto).

When I plugged the camera into my computer with newly bought *Ultra 2 port 1394a pci card*(just bought it for camcorder), the computer not recognize hv30 at all (windows xp SP2), yes, I put it in tape mode and no matter whatever I select (play, record, off), the windows never poped up "found new hardware stuffs" like that, ok. I think it's not a problem since i used to play around with Premiere PRO a lot so I just gave it a swirl in CS3.... and under "capture" Premiere pro CS3 tells me capture device is offline... so my best guess was like "heck, the hv30 is too new to be recognized, how about trying DV SP mode". I thus set the camcorder to DV SP mode, output locked to "DV lock"... again, device offline. I was like <language changed>?! I used to edit footages with my old 3CCD panasonic camcorder never got a problem with CS3.