They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Question on AVCHD quality setting

MiniDV, DVD, Hard Drive, 8 mm, High Def, brands, import / capture techniques, settings ... talk about camcorders in here.

Question on AVCHD quality setting

Postby ed » Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:52 pm

OK, I completed a 90 minute DVD of our first grandson's year shot on my Panasonic GS400 MiniDV camcorder (love this camcorder so much, think you had one too Mom). Anyway, had the firewire issues with my laptop not having it as noted in other topics here, but fired up my old Win 95 PC and was able to pull the video off and put it on a portable HD. Just bought a refurbished Canon Vixia HF R700, and I'm not sure what video setting is best. I'll be burning to DVD, but may get a Blue Ray burner later this year. Should I set AVHCD at 60P, MXP, or LP for editing in Elements 15 and burning to DVD? I'd like quality over length but I'm concerned about the editing and burning.

Thanks!
User avatar
ed
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:17 am

Re: Question on AVCHD quality setting

Postby sidd finch » Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:08 pm

I think edit in its native format then output to desired format. Keeps the resolution at its best. I know in PPro that when you drag the vido to the time line the editing program will ask if you want to keep the project setting or create the original video setting. I always let the program change to the original setting.

It also depends on how much motion is in the video 30 fps for quality on output, 60 fps for motion.

Sidd
"Nunc coepi" - Now I begin
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4105
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Question on AVCHD quality setting

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Dec 30, 2016 7:53 pm

A DVD is a DVD. It's 720x480 (standard resolution) no matter what resolution your original video is.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12747
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Question on AVCHD quality setting

Postby ed » Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:31 am

Thanks guys. Kind of what I figured to shoot in the best quality. You're right Steve, but I may get a Blu-Ray burner, although DVD is fine me personally.
User avatar
ed
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:17 am


Return to Camcorders 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest