They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Quick release plate Q

MiniDV, DVD, Hard Drive, 8 mm, High Def, brands, import / capture techniques, settings ... talk about camcorders in here.

Quick release plate Q

Postby momoffduty » Thu Oct 17, 2013 7:28 pm

I have a Manfrotto 560B-1 monopod for video camcorder. I'd like to use it on my T4i DSLR, but the plate has a peg which is a good fit for the HV30, but not the T4i. Bushing screw?? Is this removable?

Here is a photo:
http://www.ephotozine.com/articles/focu ... -thumb.JPG
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7082
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby Bob » Thu Oct 17, 2013 8:19 pm

That's an anti-rotation pin for use with camcorders. It should be removable. The older model plates used a screw in pin, but now they typically use a split pin. If it's a split pin, squeeze the tabs on the bottom of the pin until they fit within the hole and push out from the bottom.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5852
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby momoffduty » Fri Oct 18, 2013 11:21 am

I did think about the stabilization pin for the video cam and wouldn't be there for the DSLR. No luck getting the pin out unless I want to damage it. This is what the plate looks like and thought about ordering this spare. Looks like the pin comes not in place, but if I remember correctly the monopod shipped with it in place. Maybe because it is sold as a video monopod.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/8 ... Plate.html
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7082
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby Bob » Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:41 pm

It definitely wouldn't hurt to pick up another plate. That way, you could have one with the pin for the camcorder and one without for the dslr. That picture shows a split pin, and it should come as a separate piece.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5852
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby momoffduty » Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:45 pm

That was my thinking too. I would then have one for each camera and not to mention losing that tiny pin.

The plate that came with my slider handle has a retractable pin, a handy feature. :)
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7082
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby Gerlinde » Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:53 pm

Cheryl, your link in your original post does not work for me.
I have a cheapo tripod with a quick release and the plate has also a pin. It's not removable, but it sits on a spring. The pin gets pushed down if there is no whole for it. Are you sure the one you have is rigid?
I was thinking about getting a quick release for my monopod too.
A) i7-3930K 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo), 32GB DDR3-1600, SSD 256GB, 2x1TB+2x2TB Seagate Barracuda (72krpm), Geforce GTX 550 Ti (1GB), Win10 Pro 64-bit
B) Sony Vaio i7-3632QM,12gb DDR3-1333MHz, GeForce® GT 640M LE (2GB), 750GB (7200rpm), Win10 Pro64-bit
User avatar
Gerlinde
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: San Diego,CA

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby momoffduty » Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:56 pm

Gerlinde it doesn't have a spring. The slider handle plate does have a spring like you mentioned and is retractable. I just ordered the new plate.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7082
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby TreeTopsRanch » Sat Oct 19, 2013 6:20 pm

I sure prefer the plates that have that spring pin. I sure wouldn't want to loose the one in the link posted above. That is a screwy idea to have a pin that is not attached.
User avatar
TreeTopsRanch
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby Bob » Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:57 am

The pin isn't intended to be removed once inserted. With that style quick release plate, the idea is to get one for each camera. If the plate is for a video camera, you insert the pin. If for a DSLR, you throw the pin away.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5852
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby TreeTopsRanch » Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:33 am

Yes, but I, and I would suppose that others, use one plate for video camera and DSLR and pocket camera. So if I were to remove that pin from plate to change cameras in the field that pin would fall in the grass or river or whatever and never be found again.
User avatar
TreeTopsRanch
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby Bob » Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:33 pm

That would be the case with me if I tried to do that. I would probably lose the pin before I ever got it out to the field. :hyst:

I'm perfectly happy with a spring loaded pin. My first tripod (an inexpensive but sturdy consumer grade) had one and it worked well. I later bought a more solid professional grade tripod but could never find a quick release system with that type of plate that was compatible with it.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5852
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Quick release plate Q

Postby momoffduty » Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:19 pm

Bob wrote:That would be the case with me if I tried to do that. I would probably lose the pin before I ever got it out to the field. :hyst:


Me too! :hyst: Amazing that a 2 cent plastic pin could cause such havoc and in my case a $16 expense for a new plate.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7082
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis


Return to Camcorders 


Similar topics

DJI launches license plate ID for drones
Forum: Water Cooler
Author: sidd finch
Replies: 2

MAGIX VEGAS Pro 15 release date
Forum: Vegas
Author: vkmast
Replies: 2

Sony to Release the new RX0
Forum: Water Cooler
Author: sidd finch
Replies: 9

A scary quick change
Forum: Showcase
Author: bry_man
Replies: 4

Quick Change
Forum: Showcase
Author: bry_man
Replies: 3


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests