They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Help make narration sound better / richer...

Talk about anything audio here. From video narration to podcasting, MP3s to MP4s - whatever your flavor, this is the place.

Help make narration sound better / richer...

Postby rvrkids » Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:00 pm

Hello - I have the video thing downpat but am now grappling with audio. I am a novice in this area. I have audio in my movie but want to add narration on top of the music. I do know how to record and change the foreground / background volumes etc. but my narration sounds very "shallow". It is recorded on both left and right channels but there is no "bass" and it just sounds very "flat". I hope my choice of descriptive words is helpful to what I am trying to say.

How can I make the narration sound fuller / richer? I am using a headset microphone that my son uses for his flight simulator online communication so it is not the best but I don't want to have to buy something for this project.

Please help. I do have audacity but don't know what to do to the audio file.

Thanks for your help.
rvrkids

Re: Help make narration sound better / richer...

Postby Dave McElderry » Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:50 pm

I think you've already figured out that a recording made with that microphone is never going to sound like it would using an expensive mic, and there's only so much you can do with what you've got. Try playing with the bass boost or equalization under Effects in Audacity to see what you're able to accomplish. If it's in the budget you may want to consider a better mic for future projects. You don't have to spend hundreds of dollars, but you may find that a medium quality mic would make a big difference.

EDIT: In Equalization click on Graphic EQ and play with the sliders.