They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2021
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 17
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Talk about anything audio here. From video narration to podcasting, MP3s to MP4s - whatever your flavor, this is the place.

Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:25 am

Here's my latest tutorial on digitizing tape-based video with the Diamond VC500.

It's probably the best USB-based device for capturing analog video, although I do recommend using it with software other than that included with the device.

3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13574
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby RJ Johnston » Thu Aug 27, 2020 4:07 pm

That's what I've used since way back. A whole bunch for sale on ebay -- some brand new.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3102
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Aug 28, 2020 12:58 pm

I would sure love to see a side by side comparison for VHS captured via Firewire using the Canopus or Pyro Link, compared to USB and the Diamond VC500. Reviews for this on Amazon are all over the place although overall it has a good rating.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17902
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby RJ Johnston » Sat Aug 29, 2020 2:48 pm

I splurged for a Pyro A/V Link (open box but otherwise new) on ebay, since I have a PC with firewire. Somebody else will have to splurge more for the Canopus.

I'm hoping this will be a lot of fun to test out.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3102
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Aug 29, 2020 3:47 pm

I'll be interested to see your results, Robert.

Although this isn't supposed to be a contest. It's just a means of digitizing video without having to retrofit your computer and hunt down equipment that hasn't been in production in over a decade.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13574
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Aug 30, 2020 6:36 pm

I just want to see a side by side comparison of the same VHS tape captured over USB and over Firewire. Just me but I think the Firewire capture will produce a better quality digital file.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17902
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby RJ Johnston » Sun Aug 30, 2020 7:20 pm

My Pyro will arrive next week. That produces DV instead of mpeg, from what I can tell. The quality should be at least a little better.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3102
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Aug 30, 2020 7:25 pm

I think the Pyro would have a more consistent capture, drop fewer frames and have zero audio sync issues unlike many USB capture devices. It may be old but it works and it works well.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17902
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby MP#$864zz » Mon Aug 31, 2020 2:18 pm

Hello
BIG Thanks to Steve for the VHS Tutorial Very Nice.
Just getting Started with VHS to Digital.
Had some problems with Diamond 500.
I worked it out but Very Disappointed in Diamond
Support NON EXISTENT. No easy way to Contact support.
Just a few FAQ on web page most info is 4 years old
After doing a lot of Searching on Google. Most people
Feel that the Diamond 500 is very Comparable to
the old Firewire Method. Some sites Have Video comparisons between the
two Methods Posted. As Steve said the problem is the included Capture
Software EZGrabber NO SUPPORT.
Just getting started on the Transfers. FredZ
OLD Dell Precision Work Station T 3500
Xeon CPU X 5650 @ 2.67 GHz
12 GB Ram 64 bit
MP#$864zz
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:52 pm
Location: California

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby MP#$864zz » Mon Aug 31, 2020 11:20 pm

Hello
Installed Potplayer.
Pot Player will not Record Video from VCR.
VC 500 Hardware Installed OK works with Other Appa.

Error Message : it is not Possible to Capture
no audio or Video in File.

I looked for Help file or info on Web.
Any Suggestions ?

FredZ
OLD Dell Precision Work Station T 3500
Xeon CPU X 5650 @ 2.67 GHz
12 GB Ram 64 bit
MP#$864zz
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:52 pm
Location: California

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby MP#$864zz » Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:03 am

Screen Shot of Potplayer
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
OLD Dell Precision Work Station T 3500
Xeon CPU X 5650 @ 2.67 GHz
12 GB Ram 64 bit
MP#$864zz
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:52 pm
Location: California

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby MP#$864zz » Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:06 am

Screen Shot Potplayer ERROR Message
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
OLD Dell Precision Work Station T 3500
Xeon CPU X 5650 @ 2.67 GHz
12 GB Ram 64 bit
MP#$864zz
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:52 pm
Location: California

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Sep 01, 2020 7:26 am

Did you follow the set-up instructions in my video?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13574
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby MP#$864zz » Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:56 am

Hello Steve
Thanks for the Reply.
YES I tried to Follow Your Video.
Everything seemed to be OK.
When I hit Play I Got Error Message.
Tried to Post Screen Shots of Error
Message to POST.
When I checked Post had Error Message
about Attachment ?
"You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post."

Only Question I had about Config Page
Was I was not able to change Save Location
At Top of Page.
PotPlayer seems very complicated but does
not have the Usual HELP File.

Thanks for your Help FredZ
OLD Dell Precision Work Station T 3500
Xeon CPU X 5650 @ 2.67 GHz
12 GB Ram 64 bit
MP#$864zz
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:52 pm
Location: California

Re: Capture tape-based video with the Diamond VC500

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Sep 01, 2020 11:31 am

I'm not sure what to tell you, Fredz. I can't duplicate your problems. Once I installed the drivers and software (with the Diamond unit plugged into my USB) that came with the Diamond VC500 and rebooted and then installed POT Player, it all worked perfectly.

If you'd like, we can try to set up a Skype meeting and you could share your screen and we could walk through your set-up step by step. If you'd like to try that, contact me at steve at this web site dot com.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13574
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Next

Return to Editing / Conversion / Formats 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests