They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Widescreen menu problems

Discussions on third party software for the final creation of DVD including Nero, Roxio, DVD Architect, Magix, Ulead, etc...

Widescreen menu problems

Postby momoffduty » Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:07 pm

I edited 2 widescreen menus NTSC_Montage Submenu WIDE & NTSC_Montage Menu Wide that shipped with Encore in PS CS5.

When I import the menus into Encore they both show letterboxing in the Menu monitor. But, if I replace the menu from the original in the Library there isn't any letterboxing in the Menu monitor.

On the burned disc the menus are appearing window boxed. The TV w/HD DVD player does a great job making the video fill the full screen, but not the menus. On a standard TV & player the main menu is letterboxed, but the sub menu appears to have only a black bar on top.

I tried importing the menus into Encore two ways. First from the project panel Import>as Menu and secondly by adding the menu to the Library and then into the project. Both ways the same result.

Screen shots from Encore of the Submenu original and the edited version:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7092
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Widescreen menu problems

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:31 pm

Hi Cheryl, It sure seems like the image is being changed somehow when you save it after editing.
Is it possible that Photoshop is changing the file properties somehow?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17687
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Widescreen menu problems

Postby momoffduty » Thu Mar 31, 2011 1:14 pm

Chuck, that is what I am wondering too. When you open a file in PS the question of correcting the pixels pops up and I selected 'ok'. Maybe I shouldn't change that. Thought that was correcting from the old ratio to the new ratio? I'll run a test.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7092
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Widescreen menu problems

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:50 pm

Sounds like a good idea, let me know how the testing goes :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17687
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Widescreen menu problems

Postby momoffduty » Thu Mar 31, 2011 3:29 pm

I opened up the original Encore menu in PS and didn't select the pixel change and did a Save As. Instead of re-editing, I opened up the edited version and dragged the layers onto the new copy and deleted the other layers. Using that version things look like they should in Encore now. I haven't burned the disc yet. Will let you know. Thanks.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7092
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Widescreen menu problems

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Mar 31, 2011 3:37 pm

Sounds good so far Cheryl :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17687
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to DVD Authoring 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests