They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

AVI and Nero

Discussions on third party software for the final creation of DVD including Nero, Roxio, DVD Architect, Magix, Ulead, etc...

AVI and Nero

Postby ksnielsen » Wed Feb 18, 2009 8:50 pm

Hi-

I have been asked to help an area school get their movie created in Windows Movie Maker to a DVD. They have Nero (he said it is the latest version, that's all I know). If they save a DV-AVI file from Windows Movie Maker, can Nero create a DVD video? I have never used Nero before. Any specifics would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Karen
Karen
ksnielsen

Re: AVI and Nero

Postby Bobby » Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:23 pm

Hi Karen.

Nero is the name of a container for a lot of utilities. The Nero one usually refers to is the CD/DVD writer program, but that can't create a viewable DVD from just an AVI file. In the package is a program called Nero Vision which should be able to do that. It is a fairly standard NLE program, like Premiere Elements, that allows you to put a movie clip on a timeline, add titles and menus, etc.

Which Nero package do you have?
Bobby (Bob Seidel)
Bobby
Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:30 pm

Also, do they have any Vista PC's? From what I have heard Vista has a program that will burn DVDs of videos created with Movie Maker.
And make sure they have DVD burners, or they won't be doing much with their videos ;)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator

Postby ksnielsen » Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:54 am