They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

output video file for another project

Video / Image editing, advanced techniques, computer settings, third party software, shortcuts, workarounds ... share your tips and tricks here.

output video file for another project

Postby cspitser » Fri Feb 07, 2014 2:43 pm

I just downloaded the "ib-Outputting Video for Use in Other Projects" . With regard to the AVCHD M2T format. If I do this and then add that file to a new project, is it lossless?
cspitser
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 3:52 pm

Re: output video file for another project

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:29 pm

It's virtually impossible to edit AVCHD and output it and have it be lossless, cs. It's kind of the nature of the codec.

But, depending on what program you're editing it on and which version, it should look virtually the same.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12747
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: output video file for another project

Postby JMB » Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:43 pm

So let's say you edit HD footage in a sub-prj, and save it to .m2t. I'd expect PE to encode it, including potentially lossy areas even if those areas were not adjusted/effected. Although I can't see the impact on my monitor.

However, the crux of multi-prj approach would be the ability to merge those sub-prj videos into the final combo prj, add final menus etc. Here is where I would hope that PE does not have to re-encode those HD sections that are not re-edited. I would think this would also speed up the final rendering.

Can you shed more light on this multi-generation approach.
JMB
New User
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:17 pm

Re: output video file for another project

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:20 pm

If you're asking if Premiere Elements always re-encodes MPEG and AVCHD high-def video, yes, it does, as I said in my post above, JMB.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12747
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to Tips and Tricks 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest