They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Creating cd/dvd labels

User discussion concerning all that's Photoshop Elements (all versions).

Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby kenskopp » Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:00 pm

Hello all,

I have been using PSE 10 through 15. I now just got the bug to print cd/dvd labels on printable discs. I looked into Create CD/DVD Labels under "Create". There is only one Theme Cover. Also I could not figure out how to add text to the label. I looked up Adobe Help without finding any decent instructions. I also tried the Adobe "forum'. Could some one direct me to some detailed instructions on how to use the PSE Create menu to make cd/dvd labels and jewl box inserts. I do have a Memorex Label Maker. Thank in advance for your great help.
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 1TB internal hard drives, 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB and 1TB.
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:11 pm

The DVD jacket template is for a 5-1/4" x 7-1/2" case (wrapping around a 1/2" spine and covering both sides -- for a total coverage of 11" x 7-1/2".

I assume you're talking about the more traditional "jewel case" CD cover 4-3/4" x 4-3/4" (with wrap=around for a full coverage of 9-3/4" x 4-3/4".

If so, you are right that the templates include drop zones for adding photos but no text.

But in either template workspace, you can easily add text anywhere you'd like on the template by selecting the Text tool in the workspace and then clicking wherever you'd like your text to appear and typing.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12725
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby momoffduty » Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:54 pm

I've got disc template & DVD case template. Let me find them.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7041
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby momoffduty » Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:06 pm

Uploaded 2 psd files. One for a printable disc (note size in file name) and a DVD jacket template. I'll upload a screen shot of the DVD jacket. Notice the green guide lines on the outer 3 edges. That is where I normally cut the paper.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7041
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby kenskopp » Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:06 am

Hello,
I have purchased Canon PIXMA922 printer. It has great software to print dvd labels. I did encounter problem with Verbatim DVD-R Printable DVDS. I tried to play two separate DVDs from a stack of 50 with no luck on two separate Panasonic Bluray players. I burned DVDS from ISO file with Imageburn. The dvds played on my computer. Would Taiyo Yuden printable discs work? My BLURAY player is 4 years old and firmware is current.

Ken
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 1TB internal hard drives, 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB and 1TB.
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby Peru » Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:30 pm

Make sure to use only Verbatim discs with the AZO dye.
Taiyo Yuden discs are no longer being manufactured and are hard to find.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3079
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby kenskopp » Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:54 pm

Hello Peru and all,
I purchased Verbatim Printable discs with AZO. The disc will not play on my Panasonic DMP-BDT210 Bluray player. Any suggestions?
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 1TB internal hard drives, 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB and 1TB.
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:11 pm

Hi Ken,

Will the discs play on your computer blu ray burner? Can you test them on any other players?

Also, check to make sure the player has the most recent firmware update.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17513
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby kenskopp » Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:35 pm

I burn the disc with Imagburn from ISO file. It will play on my computer and daughters laptop. The disc will not play on two different Panasonic Bluray players. I am not burning a bluray program. Both DVD players played movies I made with non-printable verbatim discs. The bluray player says it has current firmware. The player is 3 years old. All other dvds play on player.
I just burned a prior ISO file to a printable dvd and it played. I am going to save the project again to an ISO file and see if it will play on player. I must have done something wrong when I saved my project to an ISO file.
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 1TB internal hard drives, 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB and 1TB.
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:00 am

Sounds like you might be on to something there Ken, let us know what happens.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17513
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby kenskopp » Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:13 am

Hello All,

I messed up. Something I did wrong in making the dvd with PRE15. I deleted my project and started fresh. I saved project to ISO file. I burned ISO file to tge Verbatim Printable disc with Imagburn. It played on Bluray with no problem. I haven't a clue what I did wrong the first time. I thank everybody for their input.

Ken Skopp
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 1TB internal hard drives, 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB and 1TB.
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby Peru » Fri Jun 30, 2017 1:17 pm

Well, whatever works is good. :-D
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3079
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Creating cd/dvd labels

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Jul 01, 2017 9:39 am

:TU:
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17513
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to Photoshop Elements 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron