They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

First time lapse video, feedback requested

Show your stuff, whether it's in the local Gallery or offsite, get critiqued in here.

First time lapse video, feedback requested

Postby Ron Hunter » Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:42 pm

I have been itching to try a time lapse video, so I stuck my T4i in a corner and shot pictures of supper at my in-laws this weekend. The camera ran for about 1.5 hrs and I ended up with over 2100 images. The finished video is 1min 34sec. This is my first time lapse and I would like to receive feedback on how to do better next time.

Here are the technical details:
- intervalometer caused one exposure every 3 seconds
- large JPEG format
- manual exposure/focus, f/3.5 1/60sec, auto ISO (1250 selected by camera)
- image stabilization off (tripod was used)
- tungsten WB.

I used PSE12 to batch resize the images to 1920 pixels wide and perform auto contrast/levels/color. That actually went by quickly. I then used a DSLR 1080p 24 preset in PRE12 to create a slideshow of those images, one image per frame. (I wanted to try 24fps.) That was an interesting experience; PRE12 used over 13GB of RAM during that rendering process! I exported the slideshow as "HDTV 1080p 24 High Quality", then imported that clip back into another PRE12 project and added titles and soundtrack. Finished video is here:

It just occurred to me that I wanted the video to be 24fps but Vimeo encoding forces 29.97fps. Hmmm... Cheryl you were right, there are so many things to remember when setting up a time lapse and I'm sure I forgot something. I think this first project turned out well but I'm always interested in improving.

Thanks for any help you can provide!
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.