They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2022
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 20
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

First attempt at a post

Specific to Premiere Elements version 2021

First attempt at a post

Postby degreening » Tue Feb 23, 2021 1:09 am

I'm a neophyte at the movie making gig, and have been stumbling around in the dark a bit. Kind of like a typist doing " hunt and peck" !!!
Anyway, in a project I'm working on, I've ended up with a black framing, (for lack of a better term), and white lines that I would like to get rid of throughout the timeline. I really have no clue as to how I got them there. Any help would be appreciated.

I have no idea if I was successful at inserting the file of a screenshot of the issue.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
degreening
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 11:33 am

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Feb 23, 2021 7:41 am

Welcome to Muvipix, dg!

To add your image, make sure that you respond in the Full Editor. Right below the text reply box you'll see a button for adding your jpg.

I think I know what's going on -- but once I see the screen shot of what you're describing, I'm sure we'll be able to give you specific help.
HP Envy with 2.9 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 14017
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:46 pm

Thanks for posting the screen capture.

As I suspecting, you have a mismatch between your project settings and your video specs. Your videos are 4:3 and your project is set up for videos that are 16:9.

Open one of your AVIs in the free download MediaInfo. In MediaInfo, set View to Text and then copy the text of this report and paste it to this forum. This will tell us enough about your video that we'll be able to tell you how to change your project settings.
HP Envy with 2.9 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 14017
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby sidd finch » Tue Feb 23, 2021 1:26 pm

Welcome to Muvipix. I believe the white lines you are referring to are Safe zones, or safe margins, that exist so that your video displays as you want it to on devices such as televisions and that the critical action happens in the right location when the video displays. These are called the title-safe zone and the action-safe zone. The outer white line (or margin) is the action-safe zone. The inner line is the title-safe zone.

These do not output to your finished video to access the safe zones in your clip, go to the panel menu or click the wrench in the Source Monitor.

If you want to change the dimensions of the safe zones, go to File>Project Settings. Go to the Action and Title Safe Areas section.

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5773
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby degreening » Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:47 pm

I'm so sorry, but I'll need you to translate this line: "Open one of your AVIs in the free download MediaInfo."
I looked in the Free Downloads of your site and tried to find something that looked to relate to this. In the mean time I'll poke around the Project Settings etc, and see if I can ferret out an answer. I need to get better acquainted with the language of all this. When I get a few nickels together I'll order your book on Premier Elements 2021.
degreening
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 11:33 am

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby degreening » Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:52 pm

Sidd, thank you for your input. That helps my understand what they are there for. Glad that they won't show up in the finished product. I'll look where you sent me to hopefully kick them out, or put them to use with some knowledge. Thanks again. Dave
degreening
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 11:33 am

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby degreening » Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:00 am

Is it a correct guess that this relates to something I saw a while ago, where some title text sat too low in the clip and was a bit chopped off on the bottom ?
degreening
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 11:33 am

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby degreening » Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:19 am

Okay, I found the Panel Menu, and just kicked out the safe zones for now. A hunch suggested I try a right click in the Panel, and voila !!! Didn't even know there was a menu there. Thanks !!!
I found Project Settings under the Edit menu, but didn't see anything there about Safe Zones. I'm not worried about that right now. I'm good just to have them out of there.
degreening
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 11:33 am

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Wed Feb 24, 2021 1:00 am

There are a number of download sites for MediaInfo. Try this one here:-

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/media ... verviewtab
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win11 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4095
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:42 am

Or you can get MediaInfo right from its source.
https://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo
HP Envy with 2.9 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 14017
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby degreening » Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:28 am

John and Steve. Thank you for your replies. I'll be able to pursue that later in the day.

This is my 2nd attempt to send this post out. The 1st was from my phone. Before I sent it, there was a blue shaded area that had a bunch of text boxes. One I remember had to do with signatures, and a couple were checked off. I don't remember the content of the checked boxes. When I hit send, it didn't go through. If I come across the same thing again, what, if anything, should I be doing with that ?
degreening
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 11:33 am

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Feb 24, 2021 11:29 am

I can't help you there, DG. I never respond to this forum on a phone.
HP Envy with 2.9 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 14017
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby degreening » Thu Feb 25, 2021 12:50 am

Hopefully this is what you are after !!! Trust me, lots of stumbling to get here !!! :-D

General
Complete name : C:\Users\David Greening\Videos\GOS Movie\For GOS Video\IMG_1546.JPG
Format : JPEG
File size : 716 KiB

Image
Format : JPEG
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:2
Bit depth : 8 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 716 KiB (100%)
degreening
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 11:33 am

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Feb 25, 2021 7:39 am

Oh, it's a photo. I didn't get that at first.

And you're sure that photo is 1920x1080? It sure doesn't look like it in your screen capture. In your screen cap, the photo is clearly more of a 4:3 image within a 16:9 video frame.
HP Envy with 2.9 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 14017
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: First attempt at a post

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Feb 25, 2021 12:08 pm

or the image is portrait and not landscape, 1080 x 1920 ....
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18044
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Next

Return to Premiere Elements 2021 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron